RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Texas House of Representatives is proud to 2 recognize Emily King for exemplary work as a legislative intern 3 with the office of Senator Kyle Janek; and

WHEREAS, Established in 1990, the Texas Legislative 4 Internship Program offers students from Texas colleges 5 universities the opportunity to witness their state government in 6 action firsthand as they serve as interns for members of the 7 legislature and related offices or with other organizations 8 involved with the legislature; and

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

WHEREAS, Sponsored by the Mickey Leland Center on World Hunger and Peace at Texas Southern University, the intern program fosters academic study and research and offers supervised practical training; Senator Rodney Ellis serves as program advisor, and his office staff helps to direct on-site activities; and

WHEREAS, During their tenure, interns garner valuable knowledge of the legislative process and the issues facing the citizens of the Lone Star State, gaining real-life work experience that can be applied in both the public and private sectors; and

WHEREAS, Emily King has demonstrated exceptional commitment 19 throughout this worthwhile program, and it is a privilege to 20 21 recognize the contributions of this noteworthy student intern at 22 this time; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas 23 Legislature hereby commend Emily King for serving as a legislative 24

- 1 intern with the office of Senator Kyle Janek; and, be it further
- 2 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 3 prepared for Emily King as an expression of high regard and best
- wishes by the Texas House of Representatives.

Dunnam

Craddick Geren Menendez Allen of Harris Giddings Merritt Miller Allen of Dallas Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Moreno of Harris Alonzo Anchia Goodman Moreno of El Paso Anderson Goolsby Morrison Bailey Griggs Mowery Grusendorf Naishtat Baxter Berman Guillen Nixon Blake Haggerty Noriega Bohac Oliveira Hamilton Hamric Bonnen Olivo Branch Hardcastle Orr Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Harper-Brown Otto Hartnett Paxton Burnam Hegar Pena Callegari Herrero Phillips Campbell Hilderbran Pickett Casteel Hill Pitts Castro Hochberg Puente Chavez Hodge Quintanilla Chisum Homer Raymond Coleman Норе Reyna Cook of Navarro Hopson Riddle Cook of Colorado Howard Ritter Corte Rodriguez Hughes Crabb Hunter Rose Crownover Hupp Seaman Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Isett Jackson Jones of Lubbock Dawson Smithee Delisi Jones of Dallas Solis Denny Keel Solomons Keffer of Dallas Keffer of Eastland King of Parker Deshotel Strama Driver Straus Swinford Dukes King of Zavala Dunnam Talton Kolkhorst Taylor Dutton Edwards Krusee Thompson Eiland Kuempel Truitt Eissler Turner Laney Elkins Laubenberg Uresti Escobar Leibowitz Van Arsdale Veasey Farabee Luna Madden Villarreal Farrar Flores Martinez Vo Martinez Fischer West Flynn McCall Frost Wong Woolley Gallego McClendon

Zedler

McReynolds

Gattis

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1682 was adopted by the House on May 20, 2005, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House