H.R. No. 1713

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, In the 1930s and 1940s, Gonzales Joe Bailey, a
- 2 blaze-faced chestnut stallion, became one of the most significant
- 3 sires of his time; and
- 4 WHEREAS, Raised in the South Central Texas county of
- 5 Gonzales, this extraordinary steed was blood kin to all of the top
- 6 quarter running horses in the region during his lifetime; and
- 7 WHEREAS, Gonzales Joe Bailey was designated as one of the 19
- 8 foundation sires in 1941 by the American Quarter Horse Association,
- 9 and he was responsible for at least 1,500 live foals, including a
- 10 host of top champions; and
- 11 WHEREAS, This grand ol' sire of Texas was truly deserving of
- 12 his illustrious status, and his offspring continue to contribute to
- 13 the state's reputation of fine horses; now, therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas
- 15 Legislature hereby honor the legacy of Gonzales Joe Bailey.

Kuempel

H.R. No. 1713

Craddick Geren Menendez Allen of Harris Giddings Merritt Allen of Dallas Miller Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Moreno of Harris Alonzo Anchia Goodman Moreno of El Paso Anderson Goolsby Morrison Bailey Griggs Mowery Grusendorf Naishtat Baxter Berman Guillen Nixon Blake Haggerty Noriega Bohac Hamilton Oliveira Hamric Olivo Bonnen Branch Hardcastle Orr Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Harper-Brown Otto Hartnett Paxton Pena Hegar Burnam Callegari Phillips Herrero Campbell Hilderbran Pickett Casteel Hill Pitts Castro Hochberg Puente Chavez Hodge Quintanilla Chisum Homer Raymond Coleman Норе Reyna Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Hopson Riddle Howard Ritter Corte Rodriguez Hughes Crabb Hunter Rose Crownover Hupp Seaman Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Isett Jackson Jones of Lubbock Dawson Smithee Jones of Dallas Delisi Solis Denny Keel Solomons Keffer of Dallas Keffer of Eastland King of Parker Deshotel Strama Driver Straus Swinford Dukes King of Zavala Dunnam Talton Kolkhorst Taylor Dutton Edwards Krusee Thompson Eiland Kuempel Truitt Eissler Turner Laney Elkins Laubenberg Uresti Leibowitz Escobar Van Arsdale Veasey Farabee Luna Madden Villarreal Farrar Flores Martinez Vo Martinez Fischer West Flynn Wong McCall Frost Woolley Gallego McClendon

Zedler

McReynolds

Gattis

H.R. No. 1713

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1713 was adopted by the House on May 18, 2005, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House