H.R. No. 1717

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Head coach and assistant athletic director Clyde
Hart of Baylor University has established one of the premier track
and field programs in the nation; and

WHEREAS, A 1956 graduate of Baylor University, Coach Hart has coached 466 All-American athletes during his 42-year career at Baylor; his men's team consistently places in the NCAA's Top 10, and the women's squad regularly generates NCAA All-Americans as well as national and conference champions; and

9 WHEREAS, Known for producing multiple Olympic gold medal 10 winners, Coach Hart trained world-renowned athlete Michael 11 Johnson, who won gold in the individual 400-meter race at the 1996 12 and 2000 Summer Olympics; he was followed by Jeremy Wariner, who 13 earned gold in the 400-meter individual race and then won the 14 1,600-meter relay with Baylor teammate Darold Williamson at the 15 2004 Summer Olympics; and

16 WHEREAS, Coach Hart has been named the 1996 and 2004 Coach of 17 the Year by the U.S. Olympic Committee, the 1989 and 1996 NCAA 18 Indoor Coach of the Year, and the 2004 Nike Coach of the Year by USA 19 Track and Field; he has been inducted into the USA Track and Field 20 Coaches Association Hall of Fame, the Texas Sports Hall of Fame, and 21 the Baylor University Hall of Fame and Wall of Honor; and

22 WHEREAS, For his many achievements, Coach Hart became the 23 first living person to have a facility named after him at Baylor, 24 where the track team competes in the Hart-Patterson Track and Field

1

H.R. No. 1717

1 Complex; a man who possesses a remarkable combination of 2 experience, knowledge, and motivational expertise, Coach Hart 3 brings out the best in his athletes, and he makes immeasurable 4 contributions to their abilities to compete and win at the highest 5 levels; now, therefore, be it

6 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas 7 Legislature hereby commend Coach Clyde Hart for his unparalleled 8 success as the track and field head coach at Baylor University and 9 extend to him best wishes for the future; and, be it further

10 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 11 prepared for Coach Hart as an expression of high regard by the Texas 12 House of Representatives.

> Jones of Dallas Anderson Dunnam

2

Craddick Allen of Harris Allen of Dallas Alonzo Anchia Anderson Bailey Baxter Berman Blake Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Callegari Campbell Casteel Castro Chavez Chisum Coleman Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb Crownover Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Dawson Delisi Denny Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Edwards Eiland Eissler Elkins Escobar Farabee Farrar Flores Flynn Frost Gallego Gattis

Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Goodman Goolsby Griggs Grusendorf Guillen Haggerty Hamilton Hamric Hardcastle Harper-Brown Hartnett Hegar Herrero Hilderbran Hill Hochberg Hodge Homer Норе Hopson Howard Hughes Hunter Hupp Isett Jackson Jones of Lubbock Jones of Dallas Keel Keffer of Dallas Keffer of Eastland King of Parker King of Zavala Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Laney Laubenberg Leibowitz Luna Madden Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds

Merritt Miller Moreno of Harris Moreno of El Paso Morrison Mowery Naishtat Nixon Noriega Oliveira Olivo Orr Otto Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pitts Puente Quintanilla Raymond Reyna Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Rose Seaman Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solis Solomons Strama Straus Swinford Talton Taylor Thompson Truitt Turner Uresti Van Arsdale Veasey Villarreal Vo West Wong Woolley Zedler

H.R. No. 1717

Menendez

H.R. No. 1717

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1717 was adopted by the House on May 18, 2005, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House