H.R. No. 1720

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Texas House of Representatives is proud to 2 recognize Christopher Smith for exemplary work as a legislative 3 intern with the office of Senator Rodney Ellis; and

WHEREAS, Established in 1990, the Texas Legislative 4 Internship Program offers students from Texas colleges 5 and 6 universities the opportunity to witness their state government in action firsthand as they serve as interns for members of the 7 legislature and related offices or with other organizations 8 involved with the legislature; and 9

10 WHEREAS, Sponsored by the Mickey Leland Center on World 11 Hunger and Peace at Texas Southern University, the intern program 12 fosters academic study and research and offers supervised practical 13 training; Senator Rodney Ellis serves as program advisor, and his 14 office staff helps to direct on-site activities; and

15 WHEREAS, During their tenure, interns garner valuable 16 knowledge of the legislative process and the issues facing the 17 citizens of the Lone Star State, gaining real-life work experience 18 that can be applied in both the public and private sectors; and

WHEREAS, Christopher Smith has demonstrated exceptional commitment throughout this worthwhile program, and it is a privilege to recognize the contributions of this noteworthy student intern at this time; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas
 Legislature hereby commend Christopher Smith for serving as a

1

H.R. No. 1720
1 legislative intern with the office of Senator Rodney Ellis; and, be
2 it further
3 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be

4 prepared for Christopher Smith as an expression of high regard and

5 best wishes by the Texas House of Representatives.

Dunnam

Craddick Allen of Harris Allen of Dallas Alonzo Anchia Anderson Bailey Baxter Berman Blake Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Callegari Campbell Casteel Castro Chavez Chisum Coleman Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb Crownover Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Dawson Delisi Denny Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Edwards Eiland Eissler Elkins Escobar Farabee Farrar Flores Flynn Frost Gallego Gattis

Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Goodman Goolsby Griggs Grusendorf Guillen Haggerty Hamilton Hamric Hardcastle Harper-Brown Hartnett Hegar Herrero Hilderbran Hill Hochberg Hodge Homer Норе Hopson Howard Hughes Hunter Hupp Isett Jackson Jones of Lubbock Jones of Dallas Keel Keffer of Dallas Keffer of Eastland King of Parker King of Zavala Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Laney Laubenberg Leibowitz Luna Madden Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds

Merritt Miller Moreno of Harris Moreno of El Paso Morrison Mowery Naishtat Nixon Noriega Oliveira Olivo Orr Otto Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pitts Puente Quintanilla Raymond Reyna Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Rose Seaman Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solis Solomons Strama Straus Swinford Talton Taylor Thompson Truitt Turner Uresti Van Arsdale Veasey Villarreal Vo West Wong Woolley Zedler

H.R. No. 1720

Menendez

H.R. No. 1720

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1720 was adopted by the House on May 20, 2005, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House