H.R. No. 1743

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Veena and Varsha Namboodiri, the daughters of Hari and Maya Namboodiri of McAllen, underwent an important Hindu sacrament on March 20, 2005, when they were the guests of honor at an Annaprasana; and

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

WHEREAS, The Annaprasana is a ceremony that ritualizes the addition of solid food to the diet of a nursing child; the transition to solid food develops out of the child's physical need for more nourishment, yet it also symbolizes her growing independence; during the ceremony, the food, which is usually rice, is prepared according to custom and first offered up to God; after it is partaken by the child, the parents pray that just as the child receives nourishment and vigor from the food, so will she derive nourishment and happiness from all that she experiences in the future; and

WHEREAS, Born on July 3, 2004, Veena and Varsha Namboodiri are the beloved twin sisters of Arya Kudalmana and Surya Namboodiri; the girls' father, Mr. Namboodiri, is a health care administrator while Mrs. Namboodiri works as a speech language pathologist; and

WHEREAS, An Annaprasana is a joyous event as it both facilitates and celebrates a child's physical, cognitive, and emotional growth, and it is indeed a pleasure to acknowledge this memorable day in the lives of the Namboodiri family; now, therefore, be it

H.R. No. 1743

- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas
 Legislature hereby honor Veena and Varsha Namboodiri on their
 receipt of the Annaprasana sacrament and that Hari and Maya
 Namboodiri be extended warmest best wishes for a bright and happy
 future for all the cherished members of their family; and, be it
 further
- RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be prepared for the twins and their parents as an expression of high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Gonzales

H.R. No. 1743

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1743 was adopted by the House on May 25, 2005, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House