H.R. No. 1776

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Seagoville Chamber of Commerce held its annual 2 awards banquet on March 5, 2005, recognizing a number of local 3 citizens and businesses that have helped to make this community a

better place in which to live, work, and raise a family; and
WHEREAS, At this memorable event, two individual

WHEREAS, At this memorable event, two individuals were honored as the community's outstanding citizens, for they have enhanced the quality of life enjoyed by area residents in myriad ways; the chamber recognized George Williams as Man of the Year and

9 Elizabeth Gant as Woman of the Year; and

6

7

8

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

WHEREAS, Another highlight of the occasion for many was the selection of six dedicated educators as Teachers of the Year; this esteemed group included MaryAnn Gibson of Kleberg Elementary School, Deanna Loll of Central Elementary School, Jessyca Caldwell of Seagoville Elementary School, Afi George of Seagoville Middle School, Robert Allen of Seagoville High School, and Lawrence Sears of the Seagoville Alternative Center; and

WHEREAS, Finally, a number of honorees were acknowledged for the significant contributions they too have made to the betterment of the community; these distinguished recipients were Pat Bearden, who was named Director of the Year; LaFawn Robertson, Citizen of the Year; Rare Finds, Business of the Year; Jeannie Hogle, City Employee of the Year; A. J. Jumper, Police Officer of the Year; Ruben Pena, Reserve Police Officer of the Year; Mark Hamilton, Firefighter of the Year; Ryan Edwards, honored for his exceptional

H.R. No. 1776

- 1 contributions as a volunteer firefighter; Neal Wooley, honored for
- 2 lifetime achievement; and Wal-Mart, which received special
- 3 recognition; and
- 4 WHEREAS, The citizens of Seagoville have greatly benefited
- 5 from the interest and involvement of these notable partners in the
- 6 community, who are continuing to shape the growth and development
- of the town they are proud to call home; now, therefore, be it
- 8 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas
- 9 Legislature hereby congratulate the recipients of the 2005
- 10 Seagoville Chamber of Commerce Annual Awards and extend to them
- 11 sincere best wishes for continued achievement; and, be it further
- 12 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 13 prepared for the honorees as an expression of high regard by the
- 14 Texas House of Representatives.

Jones of Dallas

H.R. No. 1776

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1776 was adopted by the House on May 25, 2005, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House