By: Hopson H.R. No. 1796

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The well-being of the people of Texas depends on 2 economic prosperity throughout the state, and businesses that 3 employ Texans and contribute to local economies are important 4 components of a prosperous future; and

5 WHEREAS, Established on May 31, 1950, the Dairy Queen in 6 Henderson is celebrating its 55th anniversary in 2005 as well as its

standing as the oldest operating Dairy Queen in the state; and

WHEREAS, Current owners, Rob and Dusti Beall, and past owners, J. N. Grimes and Gene Brumbelow, refer to the establishment as "the eating and meeting place of Texas," and this moniker suggests the special function this chain restaurant has served since its founding on June 22, 1940, in Joliet, Illinois; and

WHEREAS, DQ was established when the McCullough family of Moline, Illinois, invented the first soft-serve ice cream machine and founded the company they called Dairy Queen; a Missouri businessman named O. W. Klose obtained the rights to sell the product in Texas, and in 1946, he opened the state's first DQ on Guadalupe Street in Austin; and

WHEREAS, Through the years, the "Texas Stop Sign" has become a fixture of rural life in the Lone Star State, where it serves as a gathering spot for students, businessmen, friends, and family; across the state, the restaurant's dedicated owners and operators continue to dedicate themselves to furthering the company's popularity and fulfilling its slogan to "treat you right"; now,

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

H.R. No. 1796

- 1 therefore, be it
- 2 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas
- 3 Legislature hereby honor the 55th anniversary of the founding of
- 4 the Henderson Dairy Queen and extend to all those associated with
- 5 this local landmark sincere best wishes for continued success; and,
- 6 be it further
- 7 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 8 prepared for the Henderson Dairy Queen as an expression of high
- 9 regard by the Texas House of Representatives.