## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation has 2 received the 2004 Texas State Agency Safety Excellence Award for 3 its efforts to improve and maintain agency safety; and

WHEREAS, This prestigious award is presented to the state agency that has shown the most improvement in increasing safety awareness among its personnel and that has demonstrated a commitment to improving work environments, equipment, materials, operations, and all other facets of workplace safety; and

WHEREAS, To be nominated for this award, the agency must first earn the Texas State Agency Safety Gold Award, which is presented to those state agencies that have shown a decrease in injury frequency rate of 50 percent or more in comparison to the agency's five-year injury frequency rate average; and

WHEREAS, Through the development of programs that focus on the health and safety of employees who work at the agency, the administrators at the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation have addressed the issues of injury and accidents at their agency; and

WHEREAS, Executive Director William Kuntz, Jr., and Steven Wilkins, agency risk manager, have played key roles in encouraging employee involvement in safety issues to ensure the promotion of safety throughout the agency; and

WHEREAS, Receiving the Texas State Agency Safety Excellence
Award rewards the hard work and dedication of agency personnel, and

- 1 it is most appropriate to recognize the Texas Department of
- 2 Licensing and Regulation and its staff at this time; now,
- 3 therefore, be it
- 4 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas
- 5 Legislature hereby congratulate the administration and staff of the
- 6 Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation on receiving the 2004
- 7 Texas State Agency Safety Excellence Award and extend best wishes
- 8 to those individuals associated with this fine agency.

Giddings

Craddick Geren Menendez Allen of Harris Giddings Merritt Miller Allen of Dallas Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Moreno of Harris Alonzo Anchia Goodman Moreno of El Paso Anderson Goolsby Morrison Bailey Griggs Mowery Grusendorf Naishtat Baxter Berman Guillen Nixon Blake Haggerty Noriega Bohac Oliveira Hamilton Hamric Bonnen Olivo Branch Hardcastle Orr Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Harper-Brown Otto Hartnett Paxton Burnam Hegar Pena Callegari Herrero Phillips Campbell Hilderbran Pickett Casteel Hill Pitts Castro Hochberg Puente Chavez Hodge Quintanilla Chisum Homer Raymond Coleman Норе Reyna Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Hopson Riddle Howard Ritter Corte Rodriguez Hughes Crabb Hunter Rose Crownover Hupp Seaman Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Isett Jackson Jones of Lubbock Dawson Smithee Jones of Dallas Delisi Solis Denny Keel Solomons Keffer of Dallas Keffer of Eastland King of Parker Deshotel Strama Driver Straus Swinford Dukes King of Zavala Dunnam Talton Kolkhorst Taylor Dutton Edwards Krusee Thompson Eiland Kuempel Truitt Eissler Turner Laney Elkins Laubenberg Uresti Leibowitz Escobar Van Arsdale Veasey Farabee Luna Madden Villarreal Farrar Flores Martinez Vo Martinez Fischer West Flynn McCall Frost Wong

McClendon

McReynolds

Gallego

Gattis

Woolley

Zedler

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1798 was adopted by the House on May 24, 2005, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House