H.R. No. 1802

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Texas Tornado Hockey Club of Frisco has secured 2 its place in the annals of sports history by winning back-to-back 3 national championship titles; and

WHEREAS, After charging through a 42-13-1 regular season, the club's sixth consecutive season with 40 or more wins, this talented team earned its sixth straight South Division Championship; after winning its second consecutive Robertson Cup Playoff Championship, the Tornado went on to capture the USA Hockey Junior Gold Cup national title for the second straight year; and

WHEREAS, Contributing to this total team effort were Mike Olmstead, Austin Miller, Brett Blatchford, Erik Elmblad, Sean Walsh, Derek Punches, Justin King, Josh Sorenson, Ryan Fuller, Brad Cooper, Christian Beaudry, Ben Grotting, Nick Mazzolini, Sean McCauley, Jordan Mowbray, Tom Train, Andrew Harrison, Eddie Wheeler, Tyler Ludwig, Matt Krug, Bill Skwarczewski, Derek Danowski, Justin Liut, Karl Sellan, and Ben Bishop; and

WHEREAS, These exceptional athletes were schooled in the finer points of the game by head coach Tony Curtale and assistant coach Tom Murphy; they were ably supported by head athletic trainer Mike Burns, team physician Dr. William C. Burns II, and team owners Bob Schlegel, Kirby Schlegel, and Mike Modano; and

WHEREAS, Earning one championship title is an admirable feat, but earning the top prize two consecutive years is an achievement only an elite group of competitors may lay claim to; by

H.R. No. 1802

- 1 demonstrating superb athleticism and a commitment to excellence,
- 2 the Texas Tornado Hockey Club has earned the respect and admiration
- 3 of the Frisco community's many hockey fans; now, therefore, be it
- 4 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas
- 5 Legislature hereby congratulate the players, coaches and staff, and
- 6 owners of the Texas Tornado Hockey Club and extend to them best
- 7 wishes for continued success; and, be it further
- 8 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 9 prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 10 House of Representatives.

Paxton

H.R. No. 1802

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1802 was adopted by the House on May 27, 2005, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House