RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Five outstanding students from The University of 2 Texas at San Antonio make up the inaugural class of the McClendon 3 Legislative Service Scholars Program, and as the 79th Legislative Session draws to a close, it is indeed appropriate to recognize 4 5 these dedicated interns; and 6 WHEREAS, Created by Representative Ruth Jones McClendon in August 2004, the McClendon Legislative Service Scholars Program is 7 a collaborative initiative with the UTSA Institute of Law and 8 Public Affairs; coordinated by Professor Richard Gambitta, chair of 9

Public Affairs; coordinated by Professor Richard Gambitta, chair of the political science department, the program gives undergraduate

and graduate students the opportunity to serve as interns in the

Texas House of Representatives during regular legislative

sessions; selected by a UTSA scholarship committee based on

academic credentials as well as such criteria as good judgment, independent thinking, and professionalism, the interns were

16 assigned to work in the offices of members of the house throughout

17 the session; and

10

11

12

13

14

15

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

WHEREAS, An intern in the office of Representative Jim McReynolds and a senior majoring in English and minoring in legal studies, Brad J. Domangue earned a Certificate in Legal Reasoning from the Institute for Law and Public Affairs; a recipient of a Time Warner Cable scholarship, which enabled him to attend the 2004 Democratic National Convention, he plans to attend law school in the fall of 2005; and

WHEREAS, LaTronda Sanders-Darnell has also earned a Certificate in Legal Reasoning from the Institute for Law and Public Affairs; this senior in political science and criminal justice has served as an intern in Representative McClendon's office; minoring in legal studies and African American studies, she plans to attend law school and dedicate her career to helping the underprivileged; and

WHEREAS, A junior majoring in political science, Alexis M. Sampson hopes to apply her experience working as an intern for Representative Peggy Hamric to a career in public service; she is a member of the Umoja Black Student Network and the historian for Delta Sigma Theta Sorority; and

WHEREAS, Also majoring in political science, senior Annette M. Zarate has been named to the National Dean's List, and she volunteered with the Humane Society and the Good Samaritan Children's Center and served as a registered elections judge; particularly interested in legislation related to the health care industry, she has served as an intern in Representative Vilma Luna's office; and

WHEREAS, Destinee N. Waiters, also a senior in political science, is an elected official in the UTSA Student Government Association and speaker of the Student Assembly; she has received a Certificate in Legal Reasoning from the Institute for Law and Public Affairs and won the Sojourner Truth Advocacy Award for contributions to deaf and developmentally disadvantaged children; an intern for Representative Yvonne Davis, she plans to pursue a career as a human or civil rights attorney; and

WHEREAS, These dedicated students have provided vital support services to the legislature throughout the session while gaining important firsthand experience in government, and it is a pleasure to recognize the contributions of these accomplished young people as well as the role of this exceptional new program in preparing our future generation of leaders; now, therefore, be it RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas Legislature hereby commend the McClendon Legislative Service Scholars Program on its successful first year and extend to Brad Domangue, LaTronda Sanders-Darnell, Alexis Sampson, Annette 10 Zarate, and Destinee Waiters sincere best wishes for success in all their endeavors; and, be it further RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be prepared for the interns as an expression of high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

11

12

13

14

15

McClendon

Craddick Geren Menendez Allen of Harris Giddings Merritt Allen of Dallas Miller Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Moreno of Harris Alonzo Anchia Goodman Moreno of El Paso Anderson Goolsby Morrison Bailey Griggs Mowery Grusendorf Naishtat Baxter Berman Guillen Nixon Blake Haggerty Noriega Bohac Hamilton Oliveira Hamric Bonnen Olivo Branch Hardcastle Orr Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Harper-Brown Otto Hartnett Paxton Burnam Hegar Pena Callegari Herrero Phillips Campbell Hilderbran Pickett Casteel Hill Pitts Castro Hochberg Puente Chavez Hodge Quintanilla Chisum Homer Raymond Coleman Норе Reyna Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Hopson Riddle Howard Ritter Corte Rodriguez Hughes Crabb Hunter Rose Crownover Hupp Seaman Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Isett Jackson Jones of Lubbock Dawson Smithee Jones of Dallas Delisi Solis Denny Keel Solomons Keffer of Dallas Keffer of Eastland King of Parker Deshotel Strama Driver Straus Swinford Dukes King of Zavala Dunnam Talton Kolkhorst Taylor Dutton Edwards Krusee Thompson Eiland Kuempel Truitt Eissler Turner Laney Elkins Laubenberg Uresti Leibowitz Escobar Van Arsdale Veasey Farabee Luna Madden Villarreal Farrar Flores Martinez Vo Martinez Fischer West Flynn McCall Frost Wong Woolley Gallego McClendon

Zedler

McReynolds

Gattis

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1809 was adopted by the House on May 20, 2005, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House