H.R. No. 1831

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Realtor Ebby Halliday of Dallas has been named a
2005 Distinguished American by the Horatio Alger Association; and

3 WHEREAS, The award recognizes Americans who have overcome 4 humble beginnings and various adversities to achieve outstanding 5 personal and professional success; and

WHEREAS, After graduating from high school, Ebby Halliday 6 left a farm in Kansas and moved to Dallas in 1938 to pursue a career 7 selling hats; she quickly realized she had a talent for selling 8 houses, and her one-woman firm eventually grew to become Ebby 9 Halliday Realtors, which today has 27 branch offices and more than 10 1,200 sales associates; posting \$4.2 billion in sales for 2004, it 11 12 ranks 20th in the nation and first in Texas in residential sales; 13 and

WHEREAS, In addition to building a successful real estate company, Ms. Halliday has been a mentor and role model for individuals wanting to pursue a career in home sales, and she is a dedicated philanthropist who donates her time and funds to numerous organizations that benefit children, cultural and community improvements, and scholarships and educational programs; and

20 WHEREAS, Ebby Halliday is truly an exceptional civic leader 21 and businesswoman who has helped to pave the way for women in what 22 had been a male-dominated profession in the 1940s and 1950s and 23 built one of the most successful real estate companies in the 24 country; now, therefore, be it

1

1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas 2 Legislature hereby honor Ebby Halliday on being named a 2005 3 Distinguished American by the Horatio Alger Association and extend 4 to her sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it further

5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 6 prepared for Ms. Halliday as an expression of high regard by the 7 Texas House of Representatives.

> Harper-Brown Goolsby

H.R. No. 1831

H.R. No. 1831

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1831 was adopted by the House on May 27, 2005, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House