## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Texas Association of Addiction Professionals is 2 awarding its first John Austin Pena Scholarship at the 3 organization's 31st Annual Conference on July 8, 2005; and

WHEREAS, This scholarship is named for John Austin Pena, the beloved son of our esteemed colleague, Representative Aaron Pena; John Pena died on May 18, 2001, at the age of 16, and the tragic loss of this fine young man inspired his father to dedicate himself, both in his personal life and in his role as a state representative, to serve as an advocate for better drug addiction services and crime victims' rights; and

WHEREAS, The John Austin Pena Scholarship, which was conceived at TAAP's 2004 conference, will provide financial assistance to a member of the Texas Teens Program who is pursuing a college degree; TAAP is composed of counselors, prevention specialists, and other individuals who are dedicated to aiding victims of alcoholism, drug abuse, and other forms of addiction in their recovery and providing support to their families; with 13 chapters across the state, TAAP holds as its mission the unity and advancement of addiction professionals and a heightened awareness of the devastating effects the disease of substance abuse has on individuals and their families; and

WHEREAS, The fourth anniversary of the death of John Pena provides a sad, yet fitting time to recognize TAAP for establishing this noteworthy scholarship in this dearly loved young Texan's

- 1 memory; now, therefore, be it
- 2 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas
- 3 Legislature hereby commend the Texas Association of Addiction
- 4 Professionals for its important work and recognize the recipient of
- 5 that organization's first John Austin Pena Scholarship; and, be it
- 6 further
- 7 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 8 prepared for the association and the award's inaugural recipient as
- 9 an expression of high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Escobar

Craddick Geren Menendez Allen of Harris Giddings Merritt Miller Allen of Dallas Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Moreno of Harris Alonzo Anchia Goodman Moreno of El Paso Anderson Goolsby Morrison Bailey Griggs Mowery Grusendorf Naishtat Baxter Berman Guillen Nixon Blake Haggerty Noriega Bohac Oliveira Hamilton Hamric Bonnen Olivo Branch Hardcastle Orr Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Harper-Brown Otto Hartnett Paxton Burnam Hegar Pena Callegari Herrero Phillips Campbell Hilderbran Pickett Casteel Hill Pitts Castro Hochberg Puente Chavez Hodge Quintanilla Chisum Homer Raymond Coleman Норе Reyna Cook of Navarro Hopson Riddle Cook of Colorado Howard Ritter Corte Rodriguez Hughes Crabb Hunter Rose Crownover Hupp Seaman Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Isett Jackson Jones of Lubbock Dawson Smithee Delisi Jones of Dallas Solis Denny Keel Solomons Keffer of Dallas Keffer of Eastland King of Parker Deshotel Strama Driver Straus Swinford Dukes King of Zavala Dunnam Talton Kolkhorst Taylor Dutton Edwards Krusee Thompson Eiland Kuempel Truitt Eissler Turner Laney Elkins Laubenberg Uresti Escobar Leibowitz Van Arsdale Veasey Farabee Luna Madden Villarreal Farrar Flores Martinez Vo Martinez Fischer West Flynn McCall Frost Wong Woolley Gallego McClendon

Zedler

McReynolds

Gattis

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1888 was adopted by the House on May 27, 2005, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House