H.R. No. 1917

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Mariah L. Willis of Odessa has been selected to 2 receive a Future African American Leadership Award from the Texas 3 Legislative Black Caucus; and

WHEREAS, An honors student at Odessa High School, where she maintains a 3.8 grade point average, Ms. Willis is a senior and member of the General Classes Student Council; she takes dual credit classes at Odessa College and has been listed in Who's Who Among American High School Students; and

WHEREAS, In addition to being an exceptional student, Ms. Willis is a skilled athlete whose performance on the Lady Bronchos basketball team has earned her numerous accolades, including being named All Permian Basin Most Valuable Player and District 3-5A Most Valuable Player; moreover, she was on the 2002-2003 track and field district championship team and is a three-year varsity letter winner for discus and shot put; and

WHEREAS, While maintaining an active extracurricular schedule, this talented young woman also helps in the community; she has shared her time and talents with Keep Odessa Beautiful, the Medical Center Hospital Junior Auxiliary, the St. James Baptist Church, the Black Cultural Council of Odessa, and the YMCA; and

WHEREAS, Being presented with a Future African American Leadership Award is truly a prestigious honor, and as Ms. Willis embraces a future bright with promise it is indeed appropriate to commend her for her achievements; now, therefore, be it

H.R. No. 1917

- 1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas
- 2 Legislature hereby congratulate Mariah L. Willis on her receipt of
- 3 a Future African American Leadership Award from the Texas
- 4 Legislative Black Caucus and extend to her warmest best wishes for
- 5 the future; and, be it further
- 6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 7 prepared for Ms. Willis as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 8 House of Representatives.

Davis of Dallas

H.R. No. 1917

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1917 was adopted by the House on May 24, 2005, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House