By: Alonzo H.R. No. 1932

## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Lupita Colmenero of Dallas made history in March 1 2 2005 with her election as the first Latina president of the National 3 Association of Hispanic Publications, Inc.; and

WHEREAS, The NAHP is a nonprofit organization representing the Hispanic print media nationwide; its goals are to promote the many fast-growing Hispanic publications in the country, provide updated technical assistance to its members, and increase awareness of the ever-growing importance of the Hispanic media; the association's membership includes more than 200 publications throughout the United States with a combined circulation of over 12 11 million readers; and

12 WHEREAS, Elected to a two-year term, Ms. Colmenero has been a 13 member of the NAHP for 17 years and has served as the organization's 14 secretary for two; and

WHEREAS, Born in Mexico, this esteemed professional arrived in Dallas in 1985; the following year, she cofounded El Hispano News, only the second Spanish-language weekly paper in northern Texas; the paper began with a circulation of 5,000 and a staff of two, and nearly 20 years later, it has grown to a circulation of 35,000 and a staff of 25; Ms. Colmenero has received national awards for her editorial columns; and

WHEREAS, In taking on this new challenge with the NAHP, 22 23 Lupita Colmenero has demonstrated a profound commitment to the 24 Hispanic media community, and she will undoubtedly provide vigorous

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

H.R. No. 1932

- 1 and creative leadership to this vital organization; now, therefore,
- 2 be it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas
- 4 Legislature hereby congratulate Lupita Colmenero on her election as
- 5 president of the National Association of Hispanic Publications,
- 6 Inc., and extend to her sincere best wishes for a successful tenure
- 7 in office; and, be it further
- 8 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 9 prepared for Ms. Colmenero as an expression of high regard by the
- 10 Texas House of Representatives.