RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Carroll Hall Shelby, a Texas native, has put an

indelible stamp on the automotive industry through his achievements

as a race car driver, owner, team manager, manufacturer, and

4 consultant; and

2

3

6

11

12

13

17

23

5 WHEREAS, Born in Leesburg on January 11, 1923, Mr. Shelby

graduated from high school in Dallas and served as a flight

7 instructor and test pilot in the Army Air Corps during World War II;

8 after the war, he took up several occupations before becoming a

9 professional race car driver in 1954; and

10 WHEREAS, His first year as a driver, Mr. Shelby broke land

speed records for Austin Healey, and in 1959 he won the 24-hour Le

Mans alongside teammate Roy Salvadori; in 1956 and 1957, Sports

Illustrated named him Sports Car Driver of the Year, and in 1960 he

won the USAC championship; and

WHEREAS, Forced to retire from driving because of his health,

16 Mr. Shelby formed Shelby-American in 1962 and began work on a car he

named the Cobra; three years later, the Cobra ended Ferrari's

18 domination of the FIA World Manufacturers' Championship when it

19 became the only American car ever to take that prize; in 1999, Motor

20 Trend Magazine named the original Cobra Roadster as the most

21 significant car of the past 50 years; and

WHEREAS, During the 1960s, Mr. Shelby's racing team also

drove GT40s for Ford in international competition; the team took

24 first, second, and third place at Le Mans in 1966 and won at Le Mans

- 1 again in 1967, the same year it secured for Ford the Trans-Am
- 2 Manufacturer's title; and
- 3 WHEREAS, In addition to working with Ford on the GT40 and the
- 4 Shelby GT350 and GT500 Mustangs, Mr. Shelby conceived a sports car
- 5 for Chrysler that debuted in 1989 as the Viper; while continuing to
- 6 develop the Cobra, he has also designed and manufactured the Shelby
- 7 Series 1 sports car, and he is presently collaborating with Ford and
- 8 with Unique Performance of Farmers Branch to create still other
- 9 vehicles; and
- 10 WHEREAS, Deeply committed to lessening the automobile's
- impact on the environment, Mr. Shelby serves today as president of
- 12 Advanced Engine Technologies, Inc., where he is leading the
- 13 development of a radically new, more environmentally friendly,
- 14 internal combustion engine; and
- WHEREAS, He has also purchased a ranch near Annona, in Red
- 16 River County, which he is planning to make his principal residence
- 17 and which will give his herd of Tulli cattle room to roam; even
- 18 while living on the West Coast, Mr. Shelby maintained a connection
- 19 with his Texas roots; notable among his Texas-related ventures have
- 20 been the launch of a successful chili company and the inauguration,
- 21 with Frank Tolbert, of the Terlingua chili cook-off, now in its 39th
- 22 year; and
- WHEREAS, In 1990, after contending for decades with a serious
- 24 heart ailment, Mr. Shelby received a heart transplant; the
- 25 following year, he established the Carroll Shelby Children's
- 26 Foundation, to provide assistance for acute coronary and kidney
- 27 care for indigent children; and

- 1 WHEREAS, Carroll Shelby was inducted into the International
- 2 Motorsports Hall of Fame in 1991 and the Automotive Hall of Fame in
- 3 1992; and
- WHEREAS, An exceptionally talented and accomplished driver,
- 5 this legendary Texan has contributed immeasurably to the
- 6 advancement of automotive design and technology, and through his
- 7 concern for the larger good he is touching the lives of people
- 8 around the world; now, therefore, be it
- 9 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas
- 10 Legislature hereby honor Carroll Hall Shelby for his lifetime
- 11 achievements and extend to him sincere best wishes for continued
- success in all his endeavors; and, be it further
- RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 14 prepared for Mr. Shelby as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 15 House of Representatives.

Dunnam Homer

Craddick Geren Menendez Allen of Harris Giddings Merritt Allen of Dallas Miller Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Moreno of Harris Alonzo Anchia Goodman Moreno of El Paso Anderson Goolsby Morrison Bailey Griggs Mowery Grusendorf Naishtat Baxter Berman Guillen Nixon Blake Haggerty Noriega Bohac Hamilton Oliveira Hamric Bonnen Olivo Branch Hardcastle Orr Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Harper-Brown Otto Hartnett Paxton Pena Burnam Hegar Callegari Herrero Phillips Campbell Hilderbran Pickett Casteel Hill Pitts Castro Hochberg Puente Chavez Hodge Quintanilla Chisum Homer Raymond Coleman Норе Reyna Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Hopson Riddle Howard Ritter Corte Rodriguez Hughes Crabb Hunter Rose Crownover Hupp Seaman Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Isett Jackson Jones of Lubbock Dawson Smithee Jones of Dallas Delisi Solis Denny Keel Solomons Keffer of Dallas Keffer of Eastland King of Parker Deshotel Strama Driver Straus Swinford Dukes King of Zavala Dunnam Talton Kolkhorst Taylor Dutton Edwards Krusee Thompson Eiland Kuempel Truitt Eissler Turner Laney Elkins Laubenberg Uresti Leibowitz Escobar Van Arsdale Veasey Farabee Luna Madden Villarreal Farrar Flores Martinez Vo Martinez Fischer West Flynn McCall Frost Wong Woolley Gallego McClendon

Zedler

McReynolds

Gattis

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1943 was adopted by the House on May 25, 2005, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House