H.R. No. 1961

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Members of The University of Texas at El Paso 2 basketball program have distinguished themselves both on the

3 hardwood and in the classroom; and

5

6

7

10

11

17

WHEREAS, Academic All-WAC commendations were earned by four

UTEP basketball players; in order to be eligible for this

prestigious accolade, a student-athlete must have completed at

least one academic year while earning a minimum 3.2 GPA and playing

8 in at least 50 percent of the team's contests; and

9 WHEREAS, Receiving Academic All-WAC honors for the 2004-2005

athletic year were Thomas Gehrke, who earned a 3.44 GPA majoring in

kinesiology, Marta Dydek, who has a 3.42 GPA as a psychology major,

12 Ingrid Goslin, who tallied a 3.25 GPA studying psychology, and

Jonna Launiainen, who earned a 4.0 GPA majoring in business; and

14 WHEREAS, In addition, the men's basketball team has just

15 completed the second most successful two-year stretch in school

16 history; the team compiled a 51-15 overall record and went 27-9 in

WAC play, winning the 2004 regular season conference title and a

18 coveted NCAA tournament appearance in 2005; and

19 WHEREAS, Members of the men's team include Jason Williams,

20 Brent Murphy, Kelvin Davis, Giovanni St. Amant, Miguel Ayala,

21 Thomas Gehrke, Filiberto Rivera, Vernon Carr, Josh Gutierrez,

22 Stanley Branch, Omar Thomas, John Tofi, and Will Kimble; they were

23 ably led by first-year head coach Doc Sadler, whose 27 victories

24 this season make him the winningest first-year UTEP coach in

H.R. No. 1961

- 1 history, and he was ably supported by assistant coaches Ed
- 2 Custodio, Randall Dickey, and James Holland; and
- 3 WHEREAS, Director of basketball operations David Anwar may
- 4 take great pride in his basketball program, which has consistently
- 5 demonstrated a commitment to excellence that merits special
- 6 recognition; now, therefore, be it
- 7 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas
- 8 Legislature hereby honor The University of Texas at El Paso
- 9 basketball program for a successful 2004-2005 season and extend to
- 10 director David Anwar, his coaches and staff, and all the
- 11 student-athletes best wishes for the future; and, be it further
- 12 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 13 prepared for the UTEP basketball program as an expression of high
- 14 regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Quintanilla

H.R. No. 1961

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1961 was adopted by the House on May 25, 2005, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House