By: Escobar H.R. No. 2057

## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The members of St. Francis Xavier Parish in La Feria are celebrating the parish's 75th anniversary on December 3, 2005, providing an apt time to reflect on its rich history; and

WHEREAS, Figuring prominently in the development of the parish is St. Francis Xavier Catholic Church, which was established in 1912 after the La Feria Townsite Company, Inc., donated land on which the simple wooden mission church was constructed; the first Catholic church in the city, it was officially declared a parish in 1930 by the bishop of Corpus Christi, the Reverend Emmanuel B. Ledvina; that same year, the original structure was destroyed by fire, and a new church building was constructed; and

WHEREAS, Father H. J. Schmidtner served as the parish's first pastor, and throughout the past seven-and-a-half decades, the congregation has benefited from the leadership of many dedicated men and women, including the Benedictine Fathers of Corpus Christi, the Schoenstatt Sisters of Mary, the Reverend Joseph A. Murray, and the Reverend Tom Pincelli; moreover, the church has been enriched by such organizations as the St. Francis Xavier Altar Society, and it has produced 11 priests from its membership; and

WHEREAS, Under the current pastorship of the Reverend Plutarco Belanggoy, and the guidance of the Reverend Parochial Vicar Andre B. Kazadi, and Deacon Hugo de la Cruz, the parish continues to thrive and serve as a vital part of the La Feria community; as members prepare to observe this important milestone,

H.R. No. 2057

- 1 it is indeed appropriate to join in celebrating the traditions and
- 2 contributions of this admirable community; now, therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas
- 4 Legislature hereby commemorate the 75th anniversary of St. Francis
- 5 Xavier Parish and extend to its parishioners sincere best wishes
- 6 for the future; and, be it further
- 7 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 8 prepared for the parish as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 9 House of Representatives.