H.R. No. 2059

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Wood County Sheriff Dwaine Daugherty and Chief 2 Deputy Robert Cromley were named special deputy U.S. marshals in

3 May 2005; and

WHEREAS, Sworn in by U.S. Marshal John Moore along with more than 50 other law enforcement officers from 43 East Texas counties, these two gentleman are now part of the Joint East Texas Fugitive Task Force, a new initiative by the U.S. Department of Justice, and have an expanded jurisdiction for apprehending fugitives wanted by

9 the task force; and

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

WHEREAS, Throughout their careers as police officers, Sheriff Daugherty and Deputy Cromley have served with great distinction, and with their new responsibilities, they will be even better equipped to preserve the safety of the residents of Wood County and East Texas; and

WHEREAS, Texans everywhere are indebted to the men and women in the law enforcement profession, who enable us to enjoy the benefits of a peaceful and orderly society, and it is indeed fitting to join in honoring Sheriff Daugherty and Deputy Cromley for their dedication to the public welfare; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas Legislature hereby congratulate Sheriff Dwaine Daugherty and Chief Deputy Robert Cromley on becoming special deputy U.S. marshals and extend to them sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it further

H.R. No. 2059

- 1 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 2 prepared for these two officers as an expression of high regard by
- 3 the Texas House of Representatives.

Hughes

H.R. No. 2059

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2059 was adopted by the House on May 26, 2005, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House