By: Merritt H.R. No. 2062

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The *Panther's Paw* newspaper of Spring Hill High 2 School has deservedly been honored with a gold medal from the 3 Columbia Scholastic Press Association; and

WHEREAS, Under the direction of advisor Mitzi Neely, the dedicated staff of the *Panther's Paw* repeatedly turned out a superior newspaper over the course of the school year; the recipients of 20 individual awards, these talented young people include editor-in-chief Lela Coker, business manager Vanessa Butler, entertainment editor Hayden Henry, news and sports editor and winner of the Tops in Texas Bronze Star award Chris Stuckey, and

11 cartoonist Kortnee Kuykendall, as well as Janie Davis, Joe Harper,

12 Kerry Bailey, Rachel Fitzgerald, Kim Turner, Kyle Pope, Ryan

13 Dangel, Tyler Byrd, and Courtney Bennett; and

WHEREAS, The quality of their work was also recognized by the

Interscholastic League Press Conference with an award for overall

16 excellence; and

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

15

WHEREAS, In developing their skills as journalists, members
of the *Panther's Paw* staff have gained valuable knowledge and
expertise, and their dedication to high standards has benefited all
the members of the Spring Hill High School community; now,
therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas
Legislature hereby honor the members of the staff of the *Panther's*Paw newspaper at Spring Hill High School and extend to them sincere

H.R. No. 2062

- 1 best wishes for the future; and, be it further
- 2 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 3 prepared for Spring Hill High School as an expression of high regard
- 4 by the Texas House of Representatives.