RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Steven V. Tays of New Braunfels has been elected the 2 Texas FFA state officer for Area VII, and this singular distinction

offers an ideal opportunity to reflect on this talented young man's

4 many accomplishments; and

3

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

WHEREAS, A senior at Canyon High School, Mr. Tays has been a valued member of FFA for several years, serving as Guadalupe Valley District president and Canyon and Area VII vice president before

8 assuming his most recent post; and

WHEREAS, He has also participated in a wide range of the organization's competitive activities, including creed speaking, land judging, livestock judging, and radio broadcasting, and he was a valued participant at the state convention in 2003 and 2004; and

WHEREAS, This well-rounded young Texan has been involved in numerous community groups and programs, including Youth Leadership New Braunfels, the First Protestant Church youth group and youth band, the Canyon High School golf team, and the Katy Volunteer Fire Department, and in 2004 he was selected to attend the Boys State convention in Austin; and

WHEREAS, It is particularly fitting that Mr. Tays be honored by this body, in that he enjoys close personal ties to a number of its members; and

WHEREAS, After being baptized by Representative Joe Crabb,
Mr. Tays went on to work for both Representative Bill Callegari and
Speaker Tom Craddick, and since his move to New Braunfels he has

H.R. No. 2072

- 1 also made the acquaintance of Representative Carter Casteel; and
- WHEREAS, Mr. Tays plans to attend Texas A&M University next
- 3 year, and as this exciting new chapter in his life begins, his many
- 4 friends and admirers join him in looking forward to a future bright
- 5 with promise; now, therefore, be it
- 6 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas
- 7 Legislature hereby congratulate Steven V. Tays on being elected
- 8 Texas FFA state officer for Area VII and extend to him sincere best
- 9 wishes for continued success; and, be it further
- 10 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 11 prepared for Mr. Tays as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 12 House of Representatives.

Swinford

H.R. No. 2072

Craddick Geren Menendez Allen of Harris Giddings Merritt Miller Allen of Dallas Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Moreno of Harris Alonzo Anchia Goodman Moreno of El Paso Anderson Goolsby Morrison Bailey Griggs Mowery Grusendorf Naishtat Baxter Berman Guillen Nixon Blake Haggerty Noriega Bohac Oliveira Hamilton Hamric Bonnen Olivo Branch Hardcastle Orr Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Harper-Brown Otto Hartnett Paxton Burnam Hegar Pena Callegari Herrero Phillips Campbell Hilderbran Pickett Casteel Hill Pitts Castro Hochberg Puente Chavez Hodge Quintanilla Chisum Homer Raymond Coleman Норе Reyna Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Hopson Riddle Howard Ritter Corte Rodriguez Hughes Crabb Hunter Rose Crownover Hupp Seaman Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Isett Jackson Jones of Lubbock Dawson Smithee Jones of Dallas Delisi Solis Denny Keel Solomons Keffer of Dallas Keffer of Eastland King of Parker Deshotel Strama Driver Straus Swinford Dukes King of Zavala Dunnam Talton Kolkhorst Taylor Dutton Edwards Krusee Thompson Eiland Kuempel Truitt Eissler Turner Laney Elkins Laubenberg Uresti Leibowitz Escobar Van Arsdale Veasey Farabee Luna Madden Villarreal Farrar Flores Martinez Vo Martinez Fischer West Flynn McCall Frost Wong Woolley Gallego McClendon

Zedler

McReynolds

Gattis

H.R. No. 2072

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2072 was adopted by the House on May 26, 2005, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House