H.R. No. 2077

## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Citizens of Hedwig Village lost a highly regarded
public servant with the passing of Mayor Denise Ann Krause
Srinivasan on April 22, 2005, at the age of 55; and

WHEREAS, A native of Jackson, Mississippi, Mayor Srinivasan had made her home in Hedwig Village for the past 14 years, during which time she distinguished herself through her tireless efforts in behalf of the community; and

8 WHEREAS, Her interest in community service in her adopted 9 hometown started with her membership in the Garden Club and her work 10 with the city's Parks and Beautification Committee; and

11 WHEREAS, Mayor Srinivasan's political career began in 12 earnest in 1997, when she became a city council member, and 13 continued with her election as mayor in 2001 and again in 2003; and

WHEREAS, A knowledgeable and forward-thinking leader, Mayor Srinivasan sought to strengthen the viability of Hedwig Village as a location for commercial development, and much of her energies in office were dedicated to this end; she was also admired for her work to improve the community's position with the Metropolitan Transit Authority; and

20 WHEREAS, Throughout the years, she drew great joy from her 21 loving and close-knit family, including her husband, Lucky, and her 22 children, Charise, William, and Jeremy; and

WHEREAS, Although her absence is deeply felt, the memory ofthis remarkable woman will long endure in the hearts of those whose

1

H.R. No. 2077 1 lives she touched and through the myriad achievements she leaves 2 behind; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas Legislature hereby pay tribute to the life of Mayor Denise Ann Krause Srinivasan of Hedwig Village and extend sincere sympathy to the members of her family: to her husband, Lucky Srinivasan; to her children, Charise, William, and Jeremy; and to her other family members and many friends; and, be it further

9 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 10 prepared for the members of her family and that when the Texas House 11 of Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Mayor 12 Srinivasan.

Woolley

2

H.R. No. 2077

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2077 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on May 27, 2005.

Chief Clerk of the House