H.R. No. 2097

## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Texas is well-known for the excellence of its
- 2 musical offerings and the talent of its musicians, and for the past
- 3 46 years, Beto Leal of Kingsville has greatly added to this proud
- 4 tradition; and
- 5 WHEREAS, "El Maestro" formed the Beto Leal Orchestra in 1964
- 6 in Kingsville, where the group has since become a beloved musical
- 7 institution; and
- 8 WHEREAS, Through the years, more than 80 musicians have
- 9 shared the stage with Mr. Leal as part of his ensemble, and his
- 10 far-reaching influence is the result of both his considerable
- 11 expertise and his wise mentorship of the young people who have
- 12 mastered their craft under his tutelage; and
- WHEREAS, He continues to share his enthusiasm for
- 14 music-making in his role as a guitar teacher to high school
- 15 students, and in appropriate tribute to his ongoing stewardship of
- 16 developing talent, the Beto Leal Music Achievement Scholarship is
- 17 awarded to deserving music students at Texas A&M University at
- 18 Kingsville; and
- 19 WHEREAS, In dedicating his time to performing and passing on
- 20 his musical knowledge to many young people, Beto Leal has
- 21 distinguished himself as a musician of great renown who is making a
- 22 significant contribution to the rich and distinctive musical
- 23 traditions that have shaped the culture of the Lone Star State; now,
- 24 therefore, be it

H.R. No. 2097

- 1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas
- 2 Legislature hereby honor Beto Leal for his remarkable work as the
- 3 founder and leader of the Beto Leal Orchestra and commend him for
- 4 his ongoing efforts in behalf of those who hope to follow in his
- 5 footsteps; and, be it further
- 6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 7 prepared for Mr. Leal as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 8 House of Representatives.

Escobar

H.R. No. 2097

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2097 was adopted by the House on May 26, 2005, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House