RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, U.S. Marine First Lieutenant Jeremiah Leibowitz has 2 earned the respect and admiration of all who know him for his 3 exemplary service in behalf of this country; and

WHEREAS, Lieutenant Leibowitz served with honor in Operation Iraqi Freedom, participating in the initial invasion and completing a second tour of duty in March 2005; consistently demonstrating steadfast courage and unwavering commitment to his missions, he was hand-selected to serve as his battalion's liaison officer at the Fallujah Civil-Military Operations Center during more than 90 days of reconstruction operations, and for his noble efforts he was accorded the Navy and Marine Corps Achievement Medal; and

WHEREAS, Born in Houston on September 20, 1976, this dedicated soldier earned his bachelor's degree in 2000 from Texas A&M University, where he was a valued member of the Corps of Cadets, a co-commander of the Fish Drill Team, which won a host of competitions under his able guidance, and a participant in the Ross Volunteer Company, which is the oldest honor guard and drill team of its kind in the state and the Honor Guard for the Governor of Texas; and

19 and

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

WHEREAS, After the tragedy of September 11, 2001, Lieutenant Leibowitz enlisted in the Marines, and his remarkable skills and leadership ability led him to graduate eighth in his Officer Candidate School class; and

24 WHEREAS, Lieutenant Leibowitz is the son of our esteemed

- 1 colleague, the Honorable David McQuade Leibowitz, and his wife,
- 2 Delia, both of whom take great pride in their son's many
- 3 accomplishments; and
- WHEREAS, Americans owe a profound debt of gratitude to this
- 5 courageous young man and to all of the country's military
- 6 personnel, for they are called on to bear great, often
- 7 unimaginable, burdens, and they render service and sacrifice that
- 8 are truly beyond measure; and
- 9 WHEREAS, Through his unfaltering devotion to duty, honor, and
- 10 this nation, Jeremiah Leibowitz embodies the highest ideals of the
- 11 U.S. armed forces, and it is indeed a privilege to honor him at this
- 12 time; now, therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas
- 14 Legislature hereby commend U.S. Marine First Lieutenant Jeremiah
- 15 Leibowitz for his steadfast service during Operation Iraqi Freedom
- 16 and extend to him sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it
- 17 further
- 18 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 19 prepared for Lieutenant Leibowitz as an expression of high regard
- 20 by the Texas House of Representatives.

Martinez

Craddick Geren Menendez Allen of Harris Giddings Merritt Miller Allen of Dallas Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Moreno of Harris Alonzo Anchia Goodman Moreno of El Paso Anderson Goolsby Morrison Bailey Griggs Mowery Grusendorf Naishtat Baxter Berman Guillen Nixon Blake Haggerty Noriega Bohac Oliveira Hamilton Hamric Bonnen Olivo Branch Hardcastle Orr Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Harper-Brown Otto Hartnett Paxton Burnam Hegar Pena Callegari Herrero Phillips Campbell Hilderbran Pickett Casteel Hill Pitts Castro Hochberg Puente Chavez Hodge Quintanilla Chisum Homer Raymond Coleman Норе Reyna Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Hopson Riddle Howard Ritter Corte Rodriguez Hughes Crabb Hunter Rose Crownover Hupp Seaman Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Isett Jackson Jones of Lubbock Dawson Smithee Jones of Dallas Delisi Solis Denny Keel Solomons Keffer of Dallas Keffer of Eastland King of Parker Deshotel Strama Driver Straus Swinford Dukes King of Zavala Dunnam Talton Kolkhorst Taylor Dutton Edwards Krusee Thompson Eiland Kuempel Truitt Eissler Turner Laney Elkins Laubenberg Uresti Leibowitz Escobar Van Arsdale Veasey Farabee Luna Madden Villarreal Farrar Flores Martinez Vo Martinez Fischer West Flynn McCall Frost Wong Woolley Gallego McClendon

Zedler

McReynolds

Gattis

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2107 was adopted by the House on May 26, 2005, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House