## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The 79th Texas Legislature is the second session of the Moreno/Rangel Legislative Leadership Program, which is sponsored by the Mexican American Legislative Leadership Foundation and named in honor of State Representative Paul C.

5 Moreno and the late State Representative Irma Rangel; and

WHEREAS, This outstanding program provides opportunities for undergraduates and graduate students from Texas to serve as policy interns and fellows for members of the Texas House of Representatives, who in turn contribute their time and efforts to serve these young people as mentors and role models; and

WHEREAS, Internships and fellowships offered by the Moreno/Rangel Legislative Leadership Foundation are awarded on a competitive basis and offer the best and brightest young Texans opportunities to learn about the formulation of public policy and the legislative process firsthand from elected officials and state agency representatives; and

WHEREAS, The students selected to participate in the 2005 program are: Aaron Barrera from Houston, serving in the office of State Representative Rene Oliveira; Claudia Briseño from Brownsville, serving in the office of State Representative Norma Chavez; Adell Cruz from Austin, serving in the office of State Representative Dora Olivo; Nicole Drozd from San Antonio, serving in the office of State Representative Trey Martinez Fischer; Oriana Fernandez from Eagle Pass, serving in the office of State

Representative Lon Burnam; Luis Galvan from Odessa, serving in the 1 2 office of State Representative Pete P. Gallego; Eliseo Garza from 3 Edinburg, serving in the office of State Representative Jim Solis; 4 Mia Garza from Hebbronville, serving in the office of State 5 Representative Elvira Reyna; Orlando Gutierrez from San Antonio, 6 serving in the office of State Representatives Rick and Melissa 7 Noriega; Luis Martinez from Dallas, serving in the office of State 8 Representative Roberto Alonzo; Zulema Mendoza from Dallas, serving 9 in the office of State Representative Joe Moreno; Lizette Montiel from Laredo, serving in the office of State Representative Richard 10 Raymond; and Corrina Noriega from San Benito, serving in the office 11 of State Representative Carlos Uresti; and 12

WHEREAS, This unique leadership program, which promotes community service and communications training, selects students from universities across the State of Texas, thereby encouraging diversity in government affairs while enabling those selected to experience the satisfactions and rewards of public service; now, therefore, be it

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas Legislature hereby honor the Moreno/Rangel Legislative Leadership Program Class of 2005 and recognize this important and progressive initiative for its efforts to develop in young people the skills needed by tomorrow's leaders.

Gallego

Craddick Geren Menendez Allen of Harris Giddings Merritt Miller Allen of Dallas Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Moreno of Harris Alonzo Anchia Goodman Moreno of El Paso Anderson Goolsby Morrison Bailey Griggs Mowery Grusendorf Naishtat Baxter Berman Guillen Nixon Blake Haggerty Noriega Bohac Oliveira Hamilton Hamric Bonnen Olivo Branch Hardcastle Orr Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Harper-Brown Otto Hartnett Paxton Burnam Hegar Pena Callegari Herrero Phillips Campbell Hilderbran Pickett Casteel Hill Pitts Castro Hochberg Puente Chavez Hodge Quintanilla Chisum Homer Raymond Coleman Норе Reyna Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Hopson Riddle Howard Ritter Corte Rodriguez Hughes Crabb Hunter Rose Crownover Hupp Seaman Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Isett Jackson Jones of Lubbock Dawson Smithee Jones of Dallas Delisi Solis Denny Keel Solomons Keffer of Dallas Keffer of Eastland King of Parker Deshotel Strama Driver Straus Swinford Dukes King of Zavala Dunnam Talton Kolkhorst Taylor Dutton Edwards Krusee Thompson Eiland Kuempel Truitt Eissler Turner Laney Elkins Laubenberg Uresti Leibowitz Escobar Van Arsdale Veasey Farabee Luna Madden Villarreal Farrar Flores Martinez Vo Martinez Fischer West Flynn McCall Frost Wong Woolley Gallego McClendon

Zedler

McReynolds

Gattis

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2119 was adopted by the House on May 26, 2005, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House