By: Harper-Brown

H.R. No. 2174

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Three seniors from The Academy of Irving ISD earned
 third place honors at the DECA International Career and Development
 Conference held in Anaheim, California, in April 2005; and

WHEREAS, DECA is a student organization whose program of leadership and personal development is designed specifically for students in marketing, management, and entrepreneurship; and

7 WHEREAS, Valued members of their school's DECA chapter, 8 Michael Weaver, Lily Martinez, and Christina Fiallos placed third 9 in the Entrepreneurship Promotional Event out of more than 200 10 contestants and were one of only four Texas teams to place in the 11 ICDC competition; they were accompanied by their DECA advisor, Kim 12 Watson; and

WHEREAS, The students' presentation outlined the work they 13 14 performed in founding and implementing Junior DECA, or JDECA, a shares with younger students the world 15 program that of entrepreneurship; Ms. Martinez and Mr. Weaver designed an extensive 16 seven-lesson curriculum that would introduce middle 17 school 18 students to various entrepreneurship concepts; the team then conducted a one-day workshop, the JDECA Leadership Conference, 19 which was attended by 56 students from seven area schools; and 20

21 WHEREAS, These three outstanding students have demonstrated 22 leadership skills and resourcefulness that belie their years, and 23 those qualities will undoubtedly aid them as they face the myriad 24 challenges and opportunities of the future; now, therefore, be it

1

H.R. No. 2174

1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas 2 Legislature hereby commend Michael Weaver, Lily Martinez, and 3 Christina Fiallos of The Academy of Irving ISD for winning third 4 place at the 2005 DECA International Career and Development 5 Conference and extend to them sincere best wishes for continued 6 achievement; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
prepared for the students as an expression of high regard by the
Texas House of Representatives.