RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Norma V. Cantu of San Antonio has made an 2 exceptional contribution to the State of Texas as a member of the

board of the Mexican American Legislative Leadership Foundation

4 (MALLF); and

3

6

8

9

11

12

13

14

17

19

5 WHEREAS, MALLF is dedicated to the professional development

of Latino youth and sponsors the Moreno/Rangel Legislative

7 Leadership Program, which provides opportunities for undergraduate

and graduate students to serve as policy interns and fellows for

members of the Texas House of Representatives; and

10 WHEREAS, A former assistant secretary for civil rights in the

U.S. Department of Education, Ms. Cantu graduated from Harvard Law

School at the age of 22 and has contributed to several important

education lawsuits; she is currently a visiting professor at The

University of Texas at Austin, where she teaches in the College of

15 Education and the School of Law; and

WHEREAS, Committed to the needs of the Hispanic community,

this esteemed professional has distinguished herself as regional

18 counsel for the Mexican American Legal Defense and Educational Fund

and national director of the MALDEF Education Litigation and

20 Advocacy Project; and

21 WHEREAS, The strength of our communities depends on the

22 dedication of individuals like Norma Cantu, who has consistently

23 worked to promote government and civic participation, and it is a

24 privilege to recognize her accomplishments; now, therefore, be it

- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas
 Legislature hereby honor Norma V. Cantu for her outstanding service
 as a member of the board of the Mexican American Legislative
 Leadership Foundation and extend to her sincere best wishes for
- 4 Leadership Foundation and extend to her sincere best wishes for continued success and achievement; and, be it further
- RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be prepared for Ms. Cantu as an expression of high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Gallego

Craddick Geren Menendez Allen of Harris Giddings Merritt Miller Allen of Dallas Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Moreno of Harris Alonzo Anchia Goodman Moreno of El Paso Anderson Goolsby Morrison Bailey Griggs Mowery Grusendorf Naishtat Baxter Berman Guillen Nixon Blake Haggerty Noriega Bohac Oliveira Hamilton Hamric Bonnen Olivo Branch Hardcastle Orr Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Harper-Brown Otto Hartnett Paxton Burnam Hegar Pena Callegari Herrero Phillips Campbell Hilderbran Pickett Casteel Hill Pitts Castro Hochberg Puente Chavez Hodge Quintanilla Chisum Homer Raymond Coleman Норе Reyna Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Hopson Riddle Howard Ritter Corte Rodriguez Hughes Crabb Hunter Rose Crownover Hupp Seaman Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Isett Jackson Jones of Lubbock Dawson Smithee Jones of Dallas Delisi Solis Denny Keel Solomons Keffer of Dallas Keffer of Eastland King of Parker Deshotel Strama Driver Straus Swinford Dukes King of Zavala Dunnam Talton Kolkhorst Taylor Dutton Edwards Krusee Thompson Eiland Kuempel Truitt Eissler Turner Laney Elkins Laubenberg Uresti Leibowitz Escobar Van Arsdale Veasey Farabee Luna Madden Villarreal Farrar Flores Martinez Vo Martinez Fischer West Flynn McCall Frost Wong Woolley Gallego McClendon

Zedler

McReynolds

Gattis

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2256 was adopted by the House on May 30, 2005, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House