H.R. No. 2275

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Jose E. Chavez is a gifted painter who has made an 2 invaluable contribution to the artistic vitality of the Lone Star 3 State; and

WHEREAS, Born on December 27, 1960, in Alpine, Mr. Chavez graduated from Marfa High School and studied criminal justice at Sul Ross State University and The University of Texas at El Paso; he was first recognized for his artistic abilities at five years of age, and he received several grade school art awards; and

9 WHEREAS, Working primarily in acrylics, this self-taught 10 artist uses a bold, expressionistic color palette to depict the 11 Native American experience in the Southwest; in 1994, he founded El 12 Mestizo Fine Arts gallery with his wife, Diana, to serve as a 13 showcase for his artwork; and

14 WHEREAS, Emphasizing the mestizo, or the mixing of the Native 15 American and European cultures, he seeks to create images that 16 inspire the viewer to learn more about native cultures and respect 17 their lasting legacy; and

18 WHEREAS, Through the beauty and power of his work, Jose 19 Chavez pays tribute to the distinctive heritage of the Native 20 American community as well as the rich culture of the Southwest, 21 which continue to gain the admiration of many under his artistic 22 wing; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas
 Legislature hereby commend Jose E. Chavez for his artistic

1

H.R. No. 2275
1 contributions to the State of Texas and extend to him sincere best
2 wishes for continued achievement; and, be it further

3 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 4 prepared for Mr. Chavez as an expression of high regard by the Texas 5 House of Representatives.

Gallego

Craddick Allen of Harris Allen of Dallas Alonzo Anchia Anderson Bailey Baxter Berman Blake Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Callegari Campbell Casteel Castro Chavez Chisum Coleman Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb Crownover Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Dawson Delisi Denny Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Edwards Eiland Eissler Elkins Escobar Farabee Farrar Flores Flynn Frost Gallego Gattis

Geren Giddings Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Goodman Goolsby Griggs Grusendorf Guillen Haggerty Hamilton Hamric Hardcastle Harper-Brown Hartnett Hegar Herrero Hilderbran Hill Hochberg Hodge Homer Норе Hopson Howard Hughes Hunter Hupp Isett Jackson Jones of Lubbock Jones of Dallas Keel Keffer of Dallas Keffer of Eastland King of Parker King of Zavala Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Laney Laubenberg Leibowitz Luna Madden Martinez Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds

Merritt Miller Moreno of Harris Moreno of El Paso Morrison Mowery Naishtat Nixon Noriega Oliveira Olivo Orr Otto Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pitts Puente Quintanilla Raymond Reyna Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Rose Seaman Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solis Solomons Strama Straus Swinford Talton Taylor Thompson Truitt Turner Uresti Van Arsdale Veasey Villarreal Vo West Wong Woolley Zedler

H.R. No. 2275

Menendez

H.R. No. 2275

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2275 was adopted by the House on May 30, 2005, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House