RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, James S. Taylor of Austin has made an exceptional

1

24

2 contribution to the State of Texas as a member of the board of the 3 Mexican American Legislative Leadership Foundation (MALLF); and WHEREAS, MALLF is dedicated to the professional development 4 5 Latino youth and sponsors the Moreno/Rangel Legislative 6 Leadership Program, which provides opportunities for undergraduate and graduate students to serve as policy interns and fellows for 7 members of the Texas House of Representatives; and 8 WHEREAS, A native Texan, Mr. Taylor is president and founder 9 of CIMA Strategies, Ltd.; raised in Ciudad Victoria, Mexico, he 10 11 earned his bachelor's degree in international studies from Texas 12 State University and pursued graduate studies at the Lyndon B. 13 Johnson School of Public Affairs at The University of Texas at 14 Austin; he also completed the Executive Program at Stanford 15 University; and WHEREAS, Widely respected for his knowledge of Mexico's 16 political and business environments, this esteemed professional 17 18 was founding director of Public Strategies, Inc., vice president of Burson-Marsteller in Washington, D.C., and a presidential 19 appointee to the United States International Trade Commission; and 20 21 WHEREAS, In May 2005, Mr. Taylor launched an Austin-based 22 consulting firm in partnership with veteran strategists Matthew 23 Dowd and Blaine Bull and former communications adviser to President

George W. Bush Tucker Eskew; the firm, ViaNovo, will provide

- 1 communications, media relations, and strategy advice, and will have
- offices in Austin, Washington, D.C., and Monterrey, Mexico; and
- 3 WHEREAS, Committed to the political and civic needs of Texas,
- 4 Mr. Taylor is active with numerous policy boards and nonprofit
- 5 organizations, including the Council on Foreign Relations, the
- 6 Mexican American Leadership Foundation, the Tomas Rivera Policy
- 7 Institute, and United Way Capital Area in Austin; and
- 8 WHEREAS, The strength of our communities depends on the
- 9 dedication of individuals like James Taylor, who has consistently
- 10 worked to promote government and civic participation, and it is a
- 11 privilege to recognize his accomplishments; now, therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas
- 13 Legislature hereby honor James S. Taylor for his outstanding
- service as a member of the board of the Mexican American Legislative
- 15 Leadership Foundation and extend to him sincere best wishes for
- 16 continued achievement; and, be it further
- 17 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 18 prepared for Mr. Taylor as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 19 House of Representatives.

Gallego

Craddick Geren Menendez Allen of Harris Giddings Merritt Miller Allen of Dallas Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Moreno of Harris Alonzo Anchia Goodman Moreno of El Paso Anderson Goolsby Morrison Bailey Griggs Mowery Grusendorf Naishtat Baxter Berman Guillen Nixon Blake Haggerty Noriega Bohac Oliveira Hamilton Hamric Bonnen Olivo Branch Hardcastle Orr Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Harper-Brown Otto Hartnett Paxton Burnam Hegar Pena Callegari Herrero Phillips Campbell Hilderbran Pickett Casteel Hill Pitts Castro Hochberg Puente Chavez Hodge Quintanilla Chisum Homer Raymond Coleman Норе Reyna Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Hopson Riddle Howard Ritter Corte Rodriguez Hughes Crabb Hunter Rose Crownover Hupp Seaman Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Isett Jackson Jones of Lubbock Dawson Smithee Jones of Dallas Delisi Solis Denny Keel Solomons Keffer of Dallas Keffer of Eastland King of Parker Deshotel Strama Driver Straus Swinford Dukes King of Zavala Dunnam Talton Kolkhorst Taylor Dutton Edwards Krusee Thompson Eiland Kuempel Truitt Eissler Turner Laney Elkins Laubenberg Uresti Leibowitz Escobar Van Arsdale Veasey Farabee Luna Madden Villarreal Farrar Flores Martinez Vo Martinez Fischer West Flynn McCall Frost Wong Woolley Gallego McClendon

Zedler

McReynolds

Gattis

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2304 was adopted by the House on May 30, 2005, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House