RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Joe L. White of Kilgore has distinguished himself as 1 2 a vital and valued member of the community and an accomplished 3 steward of the region's rich history, and it is indeed fitting at this time to recognize this talented Texan's many contributions; 4 5 and WHEREAS, A native of Henderson, Mr. White has been a pillar of 6 7 the Kilgore community for more than a quarter century, and over the years he has ably filled such positions as charter president of the 8 Kiwanis Club of Kilgore, president of the East Texas Historical 9 Association, president of the Kilgore Historical Preservation 10

11 Foundation, and Kilgore city commissioner, as well as serving on 12 the advisory boards of the Longview Salvation Army and the City of

13 Kilgore Parks and Recreation Department; and

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

WHEREAS, Since 1980, he has put his extensive expertise to work as the director of the East Texas Oil Museum at Kilgore College, and his unrivaled understanding of regional history is an indispensable asset in celebrating the 75th anniversary of the discovery of the East Texas Oil Field; and

WHEREAS, Since 1930, the East Texas Oil Field has become known as the largest and most prolific oil reservoir in the contiguous United States, and its profound importance to the history and culture of East Texas cannot be overestimated; and

WHEREAS, In commemorating the diamond anniversary of this
momentous milestone, the people of Kilgore and East Texas have

- 1 benefited greatly from Mr. White's leadership, and it is only right
- 2 that his contributions be recorded for posterity; now, therefore,
- 3 be it
- 4 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 79th Texas
- 5 Legislature hereby honor Joe L. White for his involvement with the
- 6 East Texas Oil Museum and the celebration of the 75th anniversary of
- 7 the discovery of the East Texas Oil Field; and, be it further
- 8 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 9 prepared for Mr. White as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 10 House of Representatives.

Merritt

Craddick Geren Menendez Allen of Harris Giddings Merritt Miller Allen of Dallas Gonzales Gonzalez Toureilles Moreno of Harris Alonzo Anchia Goodman Moreno of El Paso Anderson Goolsby Morrison Bailey Griggs Mowery Grusendorf Naishtat Baxter Berman Guillen Nixon Blake Haggerty Noriega Bohac Oliveira Hamilton Hamric Bonnen Olivo Branch Hardcastle Orr Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Harper-Brown Otto Hartnett Paxton Burnam Hegar Pena Callegari Herrero Phillips Campbell Hilderbran Pickett Casteel Hill Pitts Castro Hochberg Puente Chavez Hodge Quintanilla Chisum Homer Raymond Coleman Норе Reyna Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Hopson Riddle Howard Ritter Corte Rodriguez Hughes Crabb Hunter Rose Crownover Hupp Seaman Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Isett Jackson Jones of Lubbock Dawson Smithee Jones of Dallas Delisi Solis Denny Keel Solomons Keffer of Dallas Keffer of Eastland King of Parker Deshotel Strama Driver Straus Swinford Dukes King of Zavala Dunnam Talton Kolkhorst Taylor Dutton Edwards Krusee Thompson Eiland Kuempel Truitt Eissler Turner Laney Elkins Laubenberg Uresti Leibowitz Escobar Van Arsdale Veasey Farabee Luna Madden Villarreal Farrar Flores Martinez Vo Martinez Fischer West Flynn McCall Frost Wong Woolley Gallego McClendon

Zedler

McReynolds

Gattis

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2313 was adopted by the House on May 30, 2005, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House