By: Shapiro

S.C.R. No. 25

1

SENATE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

2 WHEREAS, The Legislature of the State of Texas is pleased to 3 recognize April 5, 2005, as Texas Medal of Arts Awards Day at the 4 Capitol; and

5 WHEREAS, The Texas Medal of Arts Awards are presented by the 6 Texas Cultural Trust Council in partnership with the Texas 7 Commission on the Arts and pay tribute to Texans who have made 8 important contributions to a variety of artistic disciplines in the 9 state; and

10 WHEREAS, The arts enrich, educate, and broaden the lives of 11 citizens in our state, and these awards recognize and encourage the 12 development of the arts through personal achievements or unfailing 13 support; and

WHEREAS, The following individuals and institutions will be 14 15 presented medals for 2005: Vikki Carr, Lifetime Achievement; Ginger Head-Gearheart, Arts Education; Ben Stevenson, Dance; 16 Raymond D. Nasher, the Nasher Foundation, Foundation Arts Patron; 17 Joe R. and Teresa Lozano Long, Individual Arts Patron; Naomi Shihab 18 Nye, Literary Arts; Lyle Lovett, Music; Phylicia Rashad, 19 20 Television/Theatre; Robert Wilson, Theatre; and Jose Cisneros, Visual Arts; and 21

22 WHEREAS, The arts enhance the quality of life in Texas and add 23 to the rich cultural heritage of the state; the artists and art 24 patrons honored by a Texas Medal of Arts Award help ensure the

1

S.C.R. No. 25

1 future of the arts and art education in our state; now, therefore,
2 be it

RESOLVED, That the 79th Legislature of the State of Texas hereby commend the recipients of the 2005 Texas Medal of Arts Awards for their dedication to the advancement of the arts in Texas; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this resolution be prepared for them
as an expression of esteem from the Texas Legislature.