SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 32

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize certified registered nurse anesthetists for their outstanding work in providing anesthesia services and to proclaim January 23 through 29, 2005, as Nurse Anesthetist Week; and

WHEREAS, Certified registered nurse anesthetists have enjoyed a distinguished record of service since the 1880s, when they became the first health care professionals to specialize in this critically important medical field; and

WHEREAS, During the 2005 Nurse Anesthetist Week, we honor these highly skilled individuals, who have practiced their profession in our state for over 110 years; the approximately 1,400 nurse anesthetists currently working in Texas are the sole providers of anesthesia services to over three million rural patients; and

WHEREAS, Committed to educating more nurse anesthetists, our state is proud to be the home to graduate training programs at five different institutions; and

WHEREAS, An outstanding representative of this field, Lieutenant Colonel Joseph Helminiak, is the chief nurse anesthetist at Brooke Army Medical Center; Lieutenant Colonel Helminiak served ably in Operation Iraqi Freedom as a member of a neurosurgical Fast Team, providing anesthesia for more than 140 trauma craniotomies as well as for other trauma surgeries; and

1

S.R. No. 32

WHEREAS, Nurse Anesthetists perform critically important work as members of surgical teams every day, and their contributions to the health care field are indeed laudable and deserving of legislative recognition; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 79th Legislature, hereby commend certified registered nurse anesthetists for their exemplary achievements and their contributions to medicine and extend to them best wishes for a memorable 2005 Nurse Anesthetist Week; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for them as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Wentworth

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on January 26, 2005.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate