SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 59

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize Tom Brown, who is being honored at the Permian Basin Petroleum Association's Top Hand Award Banquet on February 3, 2005; and

WHEREAS, After his service in the United States Navy and his employment with Goodyear Tire and Rubber Company, Tom Brown founded the Tom Brown Drilling Company in 1955; he moved the business to Midland in 1957, and by 1959, it was operating with four drilling rigs; and

WHEREAS, Under his leadership, the company continued to grow, and in 1969, it became one of the first Permian Basin companies to be publicly traded; after expanding into oil and gas exploration and production, the company's name was changed to Tom Brown, Incorporated; in the 1970s, the company expanded its holdings into the Rocky Mountains with a discovery well in Wyoming; later it became solely an exploration and production company, and its drilling arm became TMBR Sharp Drilling, Incorporated; and

WHEREAS, Tom Brown is a member of the Permian Basin Petroleum Association, the Independent Petroleum Association of America, the Midland College Board of Trustees, and numerous other business and civic organizations; he is the recipient of the Texas Railroad Commission Pioneer Award and the Hearst Newspapers Lifetime Achievement Award; and

WHEREAS, Tom Brown has long held the high regard and respect of his peers in the oil and gas industry; he is a leading

1

S.R. No. 59

Texas citizen who has contributed greatly to his community, and he deserves recognition for his many accomplishments; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 79th Legislature, hereby congratulate Tom Brown on receiving the Permian Basin Petroleum Association's Top Hand Award and extend to him best wishes for the future; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for him as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Seliger

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on January 27, 2005.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate