SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 87

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize Dr. Jerry Cook, who is retiring as superintendent of the Duncanville Independent School District after 32 years of distinguished service to education in this state; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Cook came to the Duncanville Independent School District in 1997 with a strong background in budget and finance issues, which helped him successfully secure \$200 million for technology and facility improvements for the school district through bond campaigns in 1998 and 2001; the school district will honor him for his service with a reception on February 10, 2005; and

WHEREAS, Jerry Cook received a bachelor's degree from Harding College in 1972 and earned both his master's degree and doctorate in education at East Texas State University; he began his career as a teacher and moved into administration as a junior high school assistant principal with the Richardson Independent School District; and

WHEREAS, He served as a high school assistant principal and principal in the Allen Independent School District and as an assistant superintendent for curriculum and instruction with the Texarkana Independent School District for two years; after four years as superintendent with Castleberry Independent School District, he assumed the position as Duncanville Independent School District Superintendent; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Jerry Cook has had a positive influence on the lives of his students and colleagues over the years, and his presence in the Duncanville Independent School District will be greatly missed; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 79th Legislature, hereby commend Dr. Jerry Cook for his many contributions to the educational system of this state and extend to him best wishes in his future endeavors; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for him as an expression of high regard from the Texas Senate.

West

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on February 3, 2005.

Secretary of the Senate