SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 114

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize Mothers Against Drunk Driving on the occasion of the organization's Legislative Day at the Capitol, February 8, 2005; and

WHEREAS, Mothers Against Drunk Driving is a nationwide nonprofit organization that seeks to stop drunk driving, support the victims of this violent crime, and prevent underage drinking; and

WHEREAS, One of the most strongly supported charities in the United States, Mothers Against Drunk Driving was formed by a small group of women in 1980 and has become a nationwide organization that has more than 600 chapters; the organization will celebrate its 25th anniversary this year; and

WHEREAS, Drunk driving is the nation's most frequently committed violent crime and is the top highway safety concern of most Americans; and

WHEREAS, An estimated three out of every 10 Americans will be involved in an alcohol-related automobile accident at some time in their lives, and alcohol-related traffic accidents cost the public an estimated \$114.7 billion annually; and

WHEREAS, Since the establishment of Mothers Against Drunk Driving, more than 2,300 laws against drunk driving have been passed, and the percentage of alcohol-related traffic fatalities has declined significantly; and

WHEREAS, By setting legislative goals and empowering its members to advocate on the local, state, and national levels, Mothers Against Drunk Driving has proven itself to be an effective agent for change that will continue to work for the betterment and safety of society for many years to come; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 79th Legislature, hereby welcome Mothers Against Drunk Driving to the Capitol and commend the organization on its many achievements over the past 25 years; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for the organization as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Zaffirini

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on February 8, 2005.

Secretary of the Senate