SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 127

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the bishop and pastors who are being featured as "Women Who Pastor" in *Our Texas* magazine's first issue of 2005; and

WHEREAS, One bishop and 21 pastors from nine denominations and 15 cities across Texas have been selected for the special feature "Women Who Pastor"; the article is entitled "The Calling"; and

WHEREAS, Our Texas magazine is hosting a reception for these inspirational women on March 11, 2005, to honor them for their ministerial work and achievements and their dedication and service to their communities and state; and

WHEREAS, Those being honored are the Reverend Mae Carter, pastor of the Church of Marshall Full Gospel Church in Marshall; the Reverend Gloria Porter Cash, pastor of Saint James African Methodist Episcopal Church in Dickinson; the Reverend Diana D. Casteel, pastor of Miles Memorial Christian Methodist Episcopal Church in Marshall; Bishop Sarah Frances Davis of the 18th African Methodist Episcopal District in Southern Africa; the Reverend Beverly Sherri Freeman, pastor of Victory Temple African Methodist Episcopal Church in Duncanville; the Reverend Mamie Bush Johnson, pastor of Firm Foundation Fellowship Nondenominational Church in Arlington; the Reverend Terressa Marie Holcomb, pastor of First Cumberland Presbyterian Church in San Angelo; the Reverend Dr. Mary L. Hughes, pastor of Jesus Center Full Gospel Church in Waskom; the Reverend Mary Alice Lewis, pastor of Resurrection Community Lutheran Church in Houston; the Reverend Ella Mae McDonald, pastor of Agape Temple African Methodist Episcopal Church in Dallas; and the Reverend Orenthia Delores Mason, pastor of Cole Hill Christian Methodist Episcopal Church in Tyler; and

WHEREAS, In addition, the magazine is honoring the Reverend Dr. Jacquelyn Donald-Mims, pastor of Imani Community African Methodist Episcopal Church in Austin; the Reverend Dr. Ruth Allen Ollison, pastor of Beulah Land Nondenominational Church in Houston; the Reverend Dr. Sheron C. Patterson, pastor of Saint Paul United Methodist Church in Dallas; the Reverend Brenda Beckford Payne, pastor of Reedy Chapel African Methodist Episcopal Church in Galveston; the Reverend Marie Elaine Pines, pastor of Good News Inter-Denominational Church in Galveston; the Reverend Audrine Moore Scales, pastor of New Believers Full Gospel Baptist Church in Houston; the Reverend Charline Bolden Simmons, pastor of Watts Chapel Christian Methodist Episcopal in Lodi; the Reverend Mayme Lucille Edwards-Smith, pastor of Potters Creek Missionary Baptist Church in Marshall; the Reverend Patricia Wilcox Smith, pastor of Allen Chapel African Methodist Episcopal Church in Beaumont; the Reverend Delphine Lynetta Vasser, pastor of Saint James African Methodist Episcopal Church in Terrell; and the Reverend

S.R. No. 127

Maggie Phillips Young, pastor of Ebenezer United Methodist Church in Marshall; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 79th Legislature, hereby join *Our Texas* magazine in paying tribute to these outstanding women and express appreciation to each for their many good deeds and their leadership in the ministry; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for them as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

West, Ellis

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on February 10, 2005.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate