SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 185

WHEREAS, Texans place great value in the importance of education, for the future of the Lone Star State lies in the hands of our children, who must be fully equipped with the skills needed to successfully meet the challenges that lie ahead in the 21st century; and

WHEREAS, Such success would not be possible without the commitment and enthusiasm exhibited by teachers such as those being recognized as the 2005 honorees for the Texas Exes Awards for Outstanding Teachers; and

WHEREAS, Charles A. Bell of Midland Senior High School in Midland, Kathalene Ann Jernigan of Clear Brook High School in Friendswood, and Christopher Smith of S&S High School in Sadler are receiving the Lillian B. Rhodes Teaching Award; Saundra Coffey of Cypress Springs High School in Cypress is receiving the Glaxo Teaching Award; Lisa Davis of Crosbyton High School in Crosbyton and John Dunkin of Los Fresnos in Los Fresnos are receiving the Bernard and Audre Rapoport Teaching Award; Laura Elms of Lake View High School in San Angelo is receiving the Gordon Appleman Teaching Award; Dudley Ronnenkamp of Clements High School in Sugar Land is receiving the Houston Texas Exes Teaching Award; Denise K. Smith of Morton High School in Morton is receiving the Mrs. Harold B. Myers Teaching Award; Karen T. White of Lewisville High School in Lewisville is receiving the Jane Johnson Wilson Teaching Award; Debra Ann Flores of Bessie Haynes Elementary School in Pecos is receiving the Verna Rogers Teaching Award; and Scot J. Roppe of Bassetti Elementary School in Abilene is receiving the Suzan and Julius Glickman Teaching Award; and

WHEREAS, All of these highly regarded professionals have earned recognition from their peers for their proven ability to motivate students, for their instructional expertise, and for the cooperative manner in which they work with their colleagues and administrators; and

WHEREAS, Nominated by their principals, this year's honorees were selected from a large and talented field of entrants, and they are being honored at the 2005 Conference on Texas Excellence in Education held at The University of Texas at Austin; and

WHEREAS, Now in its 19th year, the Texas Exes Awards program is jointly presented by The University of Texas at Austin College of Education and the Ex-Students' Association; as a recipient of a Texas Exes Award, each of these educators has achieved a rare distinction that is deserving of legislative recognition; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 79th Legislature, hereby commend the recipients of the

S.R. No. 185

2005 Texas Exes Awards for Outstanding Teachers and extend to them sincere best wishes for continued success in the years to come; and, be it further $\frac{1}{2}$

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for these dedicated teachers as an expression of high regard from the Texas Senate.

Barrientos

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on February 17, 2005.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate