## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 215

WHEREAS, For half a century Thomas Walter McMullan has served the youth of his community as a member of the Devers Independent School District Board of Trustees, an exceptional tenure that makes him the longest-serving school board member in the state; and

WHEREAS, Mr. McMullan's hard work with Devers Independent School District is all the more impressive considering the demands of his work as a rice farmer; despite his laborious occupation and the many hours he has logged with the school board, this Texas Rice Festival 2004 Pioneer Farmer of the Year has found the time to further benefit his community and state by serving with the Liberty County Farm Bureau board, the Devers Drainage District Number 4, the Liberty-Hardin County Farm Service Agency board, the Texas Rice Producer board, and other industry-related panels; and

other industry-related panels; and WHEREAS, In his many endeavors, Mr. McMullan has enjoyed the support of his beloved wife, Ruth, and his daughters, grandchildren, and great-grandchild, as well as the fellowship of the First Baptist Church of Devers; and

WHEREAS, The participation of concerned citizens is vital to the success of our state's public schools, and through his exemplary service to the Devers school board, Tommy McMullan has set an extraordinary example of leadership and civic involvement to which all may aspire; now, therefore, be it RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas,

**RESOLVED,** That the Senate of the State of Texas, 79th Legislature, hereby heartily congratulate Thomas Walter McMullan on five decades as a trustee of the Devers Independent School District and extend to him sincere best wishes for continued happiness; and, be it further

**RESOLVED,** That an official copy of this Resolution be prepared for Mr. McMullan as an expression of high regard by the Texas Senate.

Williams

## President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on February 24, 2005.

## Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate