SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 219

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas takes pride in recognizing United States Senator John Cornyn, who was recently selected as the 2005 Border Texan of the Year; and

WHEREAS, The Border Texan of the Year award, initiated by the Hidalgo Chamber of Commerce in 1989, honors an individual who makes outstanding contributions to the betterment of the Rio Grande Valley and South Texas; and

WHEREAS, A native Houstonian, John Cornyn graduated from Trinity University and Saint Mary's School of Law and continued his education by earning a master's degree in law from the University of Virginia; and

WHEREAS, John Cornyn served as a district court judge in San Antonio for six years before being elected in 1990 to the Texas Supreme Court, where he served for seven years: and

Texas Supreme Court, where he served for seven years; and WHEREAS, An exceptional leader, Senator Cornyn was elected attorney general of Texas in 1999, and he succeeded Phil Gramm in the United States Senate in 2002; chosen as deputy whip after only one year in the Senate, he serves on five important committees; and

WHEREAS, Senator Cornyn is committed to improving educational opportunities, providing more accessible health care, and strengthening the economy for all Texans; he supports Texas military personnel and veterans and works for balanced immigration reform; throughout his career he has been devoted to the welfare of all of the citizens of this state; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 79th Legislature, hereby commend Senator John Cornyn on his distinguished career and extend to him congratulations on his selection as Border Texan of the Year; and, be it further

selection as Border Texan of the Year; and, be it further RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for Senator Cornyn as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Hinojosa

President of the Senate
I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on February 22, 2005.
Secretary of the Senate
Member, Texas Senate