SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 241

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas takes great pleasure in joining the citizens of Collin County to congratulate Terry G. Box on the occasion of his 20th anniversary as sheriff of Collin County; and

WHEREAS, A lifelong resident of Collin County, Sheriff Box began his law enforcement career in 1968; he joined the sheriff's office in 1981, where his abilities were quickly recognized; he was appointed sheriff in 1985, and has since been elected for six consecutive terms; and

WHEREAS, Sheriff Box was appointed by Governor George W. Bush to the Texas Commission on Jail Standards; he holds a Master Peace Officer Certificate and was one of only 40 sheriffs nationwide chosen to attend the Federal Bureau of Investigation's National Sheriff's Academy; he has received numerous other honors attesting to his many attributes and skills; and WHEREAS, He has further distinguished himself through

WHEREAS, He has further distinguished himself through his devotion to the community; he has served on many boards and committees, working with organizations that include the Collin County Children's Advocacy Center, the McKinney Job Corps, and the Rape Crisis Center of Collin County; and

Collin County Children's Advocacy Center, the McKinney Job Corps, and the Rape Crisis Center of Collin County; and WHEREAS, Through his dedication, commitment, and untiring efforts, Sheriff Box has made Collin County a safer place to live, work, and raise a family, and he is truly deserving of legislative recognition; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas,
79th Legislature, hereby congratulate and commend
Sheriff Terry G. Box for 20 years of meritorious service to
the citizens of Collin County, and he it further

the citizens of Collin County; and, be it further RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for Sheriff Box as a token of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Shapiro

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on March 1, 2005.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate