SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 275

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize Jacqueline Padron, who was recently named a 2005 Texas Youth of the Year Finalist by the Texas Alliance of Boys and Girls Clubs; and

WHEREAS, Boys and Girls Clubs are neighborhood-based programs that address today's pressing issues and help youths to reach their potential as productive citizens; their goal is to promote a better self-image in young people and to encourage their community involvement and the adoption of strong moral values and life management skills; and

WHEREAS, Jacqueline has been a member of the Boys and Girls Clubs of Edinburg for five years; a senior at Edcouch-Elsa High School, she is an officer in the National Honor Society and is in her third year as a class officer on the student council; she has played softball, volleyball, and basketball, and she served as a varsity squad cheerleader this year; and

WHEREAS, At the Boys and Girls Club, she provides positive guidance and helps younger members with their homework; she has participated in Kellogg Leadership for Community Change and has volunteered for Special Olympics, beach cleanup projects, and food and clothes drives; her future plans include studying computer science or engineering at a major university; and

WHEREAS, Jacqueline's selection as a Texas Youth of the Year Finalist is a tribute to her exceptional talents and her enthusiasm for service; she is a fine example of the many young people in the State of Texas who volunteer their time helping their communities; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 79th Legislature, hereby congratulate Jacqueline Padron on her selection as 2005 Texas Youth of the Year Finalist and extend to her best wishes for success in the future; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for her as an expression of high regard from the Texas Senate.

Hinojosa

President of the Senate
I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on March 1, 2005.
Secretary of the Senate