SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 276

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize Miriam Barrientos, who was recently named a 2005 Texas Youth of the Year Finalist by the Texas Alliance of Boys and Girls Clubs; and

WHEREAS, Boys and Girls Clubs are neighborhood-based programs that address today's pressing issues and help youths to reach their potential as productive citizens; their goal is to promote a better self-image in young people and to encourage their community involvement and the adoption of strong moral values and life management skills; and

WHEREAS, Miriam has been a member of the Boys and Girls Club of McAllen for six years; she is a senior at James Rowe High School and serves as an officer in the Fellowship of Christian Athletes and Future Farmers of America; she is a member of the National Honor Society and plays in the marching and concert bands; and

WHEREAS, An active member of the Boys and Girls Clubs, Miriam volunteers in the Arts and Crafts Program and participates in community service projects, including the H-E-B Feast of Sharing and the City Youth Rally; she has received the Presidential Freedom Scholarship for Volunteer Service, and her future plans include studying garden design and landscape at Texas State University; and

WHEREAS, Miriam's selection as a Texas Youth of the Year Finalist is a tribute to her exceptional talents and her enthusiasm for service; she is a fine example of the many young people in the State of Texas who volunteer their time to help improve their communities; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 79th Legislature, hereby congratulate Miriam Barrientos on her selection as a 2005 Texas Youth of the Year Finalist and extend to her best wishes for success in the future; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for her as an expression of high regard from the Texas Senate.

Hinojosa

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on March 1, 2005.

Secretary of the Senate