## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 277

## In Memory of Jimmy LaValle Emanuel

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas joins the citizens of Corpus Christi in mourning the loss of Jimmy LaValle Emanuel, who died January 30, 2005, at the age of 49; and
WHEREAS, Born October 20, 1955, Jimmy was the son of Jimmie Lee

and Doris Mayo Emanuel; an exceptional athlete, he won many awards for excellence in football, basketball, baseball, and track for Bastrop High School; and

WHEREAS, Jimmy attended Texas A&I University in Kingsville, graduating in 1979 with a bachelor's degree in education; after nine years with the Robstown Independent School District, he moved to the Corpus Christi Independent School District, where he taught and coached at Moody High School for 18 years; and

WHEREAS, Coach Emanuel's dedication to his students extended beyond the athletic arena; he was a mentor and friend who counseled and nurtured his students; and

WHEREAS, A man of strength, honor, and generosity, Coach Emanuel gave unstintingly to others, and his wisdom, warmth, and valued counsel will not be forgotten by those who knew him; and WHEREAS, Jimmy LaValle Emanuel was a devoted husband and father and he leaves behind memories that will be treasured

forever by his family and many friends; now, therefore, be it RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 79th Legislature, hereby extend sincere condolences to the bereaved family of Jimmy LaValle Emanuel: his wife, Sandra Ann; his children, Kevin, Bryan, Brittany, and Brandy; his granddaughter, Carissa Lissette Mitchell; his father, Jimmie Lee Emanuel; his sister, Dr. Sandra Emanuel Bell; his brother, Roderick Lee Emanuel; and other dear relatives and friends; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for

the members of the Emanuel family as an expression of deepest sympathy from the Texas Senate, and that when the Senate adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Jimmy Emanuel.

Hinojosa

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on March 1, 2005, by a rising vote.

Secretary of the Senate