## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 285

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the members of the Society of Martha Washington and the society's president, Rebecca Wise, on the occasion of the organization's 2005 Colonial Pageant and Ball, which is highlighting the Grand Ball of the spring of 1790 and honoring the descendants of the American Revolutionary War heroes who settled in Laredo; and

WHEREAS, Early Laredo settlers who participated in the American Revolutionary War were Colonel Peter Randolph and Sarah Greenhill Randolph, Captain Nathaniel Winslow, Sr., and Joanne Kellogg Winslow, Matthew Nightingale and Lucy Cauthon Nightingale, Samuel Boone and Sarah Day Boone, Sergeant Squire Boone and Anna Grubbs Boone, Adonijah Griswold and Mary Barton Griswold, Robert Westmoreland and Nancy Ann Lenoir Westmoreland, Colonel Melatiah Jordan and Elizabeth Jellison Jordan, Captain Nathaniel Jarvis and Phoebe Allen Jarvis and Patrick Henry and Dorothea Dandrige Henry; and

WHEREAS, The society's annual pageant spotlights the "First Lady of the Land," Martha Washington, an individual who made significant efforts in this country's revolutionary cause; and

WHEREAS, This year, chosen as exemplary models of the qualities that the society hopes to preserve, Richard E. Haynes will portray George Washington and Anita Zúñiga Dodier will portray Martha Dandridge Washington; and

WHEREAS, The Society of Martha Washington's Colonial Pageant fosters an appreciation for George and Martha Washington and helps the people of South Texas to become more acquainted with those persons who contributed to the success of the American Revolutionary War; now, therefore, be it

Revolutionary War; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas,
79th Legislature, hereby congratulate the Society of
Martha Washington for bringing recognition to the American War
of Independence; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for the Society of Martha Washington as an expression of highest regard from the Texas Senate.

Zaffirini

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on March 1, 2005.

President of the Senate

Secretary of the Senate