## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 337

## In Memory of Nito R. Guajardo

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas joins the citizens of Baytown in mourning the untimely loss of Nito R. Guajardo, who died December 20, 2004, at the age of 24; and

WHEREAS, Nito was born in Texas City on February 1, 1980, and graduated from Clear Creek High School in 1998; he attended the fire academy at the College of the Mainland in Texas City and received his certificate of completion in December of 2002; and

WHEREAS, He was hired by the Baytown Fire Department in January of 2004 and was assigned to structure fire suppression; he received his Basic Firefighter Certificate from the Texas Commission of Fire Protection in February of 2004; and

WHEREAS, In the early morning hours of December 20, the Baytown Fire Department responded to a two-alarm house fire, and Nito, with seven other firefighters, entered the burning home to search for occupants but were forced out by the blaze; when the firefighters emerged, Nito was not with them; and

WHEREAS, Nito Guajardo had hoped to become a paramedic; he was engaged to be married and anticipated a bright future; he loved the challenge of his dangerous work and bravely lost his life in the service of his community; his name will be added to the Fallen Firefighters' Memorial in Colorado Springs; and

WHEREAS, Nito enriched all who knew him with his warmth, enthusiasm, and vitality and he leaves behind memories that will be treasured forever by his family and many friends; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas,

79th Legislature, hereby extend sincere condolences to the
bereaved family of Nito R. Guajardo: his parents,

Mr. and Mrs. Rene N. Guajardo and Mr. and Mrs. David Herod; his
seven brothers and eleven sisters; and other cherished family
members; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for the family of Nito R. Guajardo as an expression of deepest sympathy from the Texas Senate, and that when the Senate adjourns this day, it do so in his memory.

		Gallegos
Armbrister Averitt Barrientos Brimer Carona Deuell Duncan Ellis Eltife Estes	Fraser Harris Hinojosa Janek Lindsay Lucio Madla Nelson Ogden	Seliger Shapiro Shapleigh Staples Van de Putte Wentworth West Whitmire Williams Zaffirini

Dewhurst, President of the Senate

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on March 8, 2005, by a rising vote.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate

Jackson