## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 421

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize Norman B. Woolsey, who retired on February 28, 2005, as superintendent of Grandfalls-Royalty Independent School District; and

WHEREAS, Norman has had a remarkable career as an educator and administrator; he began his career as a band director in Natalia, Texas; while serving as a federal coordinator and elementary school principal in the Waelder Independent School District, he was instrumental in the success of the Waelder Elementary Fine Arts Instructional Program; he secured a private grant for the program, which became a model program for the Texas Commission on the Arts; and

WHEREAS, He was principal of Gosset Elementary School in Rankin, where he improved the performance of the school, moving it from an Acceptable to a Recognized rating in only one year; for his efforts he was recognized by Region 18 as a Leader for Campus Effectiveness; and

WHEREAS, Under his leadership as superintendent, the Grandfalls-Royalty Independent School District became a Recognized district; during his tenure at the school district he also served on the Region VI University Interscholastic League Music Executive Committee and the Social Studies Center Website Advisory Board; and

WHEREAS, As a superintendent and a civic leader, Norman Woolsey has demonstrated exceptional dedication and commitment to the Grandfalls community and the Grandfalls-Royalty Independent School District, and he is admired and respected by all who know him; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 79th Legislature, hereby commend Norman B. Woolsey for his many years of meritorious service to the schoolchildren of Texas and to our state and extend to him best wishes for a fulfilling retirement; and, be it further

**RESOLVED,** That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for him as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Madla

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on March 21, 2005.

Secretary of the Senate