SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 476

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the Texas Lyceum Association on the occasion of its 25th anniversary; and

WHEREAS, Following the tradition Aristotle established with the Lyceum of ancient Athens, the Texas Lyceum Association was created in 1980 to address the critical questions facing Texas through open debate and discussion among its members; and

WHEREAS, The Texas Lyceum brings together individuals with diverse opinions and expertise for the benefit of state leaders, ensuring Texas a place in the forefront of our nation's journey into the 21st century; and

WHEREAS, The association seeks to identify and develop the next generation of top leadership in Texas and to promote stewardship of the values, traditions, and resources of our state; and

WHEREAS, Former members of the association include such luminaries as President George W. Bush, John Sharp, United States Senator Kay Bailey Hutchison, Governor Rick Perry, Attorney General Greg Abbott, Senator Rodney Ellis, and Lena Guerrero; the membership is a diverse group that includes doctors, lawyers, government officials, artists, and clergy; now, therefore, be it RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas,

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 79th Legislature, hereby congratulate the members of the Texas Lyceum Association on the occasion of the organization's 25th anniversary and honor them for 25 years of meritorious service to Texas; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for the organization as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Seliger

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on March 31, 2005.

President of the Senate

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate