SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 489

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to pay tribute to the cities of Eden, San Augustine, Yoakum, Fort Stockton, Claude, Brownwood, Quitaque, Rio Grande, White Deer, and Post, which have been designated 2005 Texas Yes! Hardworking Rural Communities by the Texas Department of Agriculture; and

WHEREAS, The Texas Yes! project is an initiative of the Texas Department of Agriculture to promote growth and prosperity of every rural Texas town, city, and county and is similar to the department's GO TEXAN marketing campaign; and

WHEREAS, Each community is self-nominated and evaluated by the Texas Yes! Advisory Board, an independent panel comprised of Texas leaders in the arts, media, education, and tourism; the panel assesses the community's program for rural development as it relates to tourism, planning, community involvement, economic progress, education, and other criteria; and

WHEREAS, The Texas Yes! awards spotlight the exciting developments taking place in rural communities across Texas and encourages these communities to share and promote successful ideas; the 10 cities that have been selected for the 2005 Texas Yes! award are proven hardworking rural communities, and they are indeed deserving of legislative recognition; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 79th Legislature, hereby commend the citizens of Eden, San Augustine, Yoakum, Fort Stockton, Claude, Brownwood, Quitaque, Rio Grande, White Deer, and Post for their outstanding work in developing and promoting their communities and congratulate them on their designation as Texas Yes! Hardworking Rural Communities; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for these communities as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Duncan

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on March 31, 2005.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate