SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 495

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the students of the inaugural class of the Irma Lerma Rangel Young Women's Leadership School and welcome them to the Capitol on March 30, 2005; and

WHEREAS, The Irma Lerma Rangel Young Women's Leadership School was named for the late Honorable Irma Rangel, an attorney and former school teacher and the first Mexican American woman to be elected to the Texas House of Representatives; she was a champion of education throughout her career in public service and took a special interest in the education of women; and WHEREAS, Dallas's first all-girls public school, the

WHEREAS, Dallas's first all-girls public school, the Irma Lerma Rangel Young Women's Leadership School requires potential students to submit grades, test scores, and an essay; the school is for girls in grades seven and eight and the rigorous curriculum includes prehonors classes with a strong emphasis on mathematics, science, and technology; it is affiliated with the Young Women's Leadership School in Harlem and is part of a movement that allows educators to focus on the different ways that boys and girls learn; and

WHEREAS, Irma Rangel was a true Texas pioneer who worked unstintingly to ensure that a quality education was available to all Texans, and it is truly appropriate that this innovative school was named in her honor: now, therefore, be it

school was named in her honor; now, therefore, be it
RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas,
79th Legislature, hereby commend the students of the
Irma Lerma Rangel Young Women's Leadership School for their
exceptional achievements and extend to them best wishes for
success in all their future endeavors; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for the students of the inaugural class as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

West

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on March 30, 2005.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate