SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 519

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize Dr. Alfred N. Poindexter, who retired in August of 2004 after 59 years of outstanding service to Prairie View A&M University; and

WHEREAS, A former professor and veterinarian in the College of Agriculture and Human Sciences at Prairie View A&M University, Dr. Poindexter was honored March 19, 2005, at a Scholarship Retirement Gala aptly entitled "A Living Legend"; proceeds from the event will be placed in the Alfred N. Poindexter Scholarship Fund for outstanding students; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Poindexter began his illustrious career at Prairie View A&M University as an adjunct lecturer in 1945; he assumed the role of professor and veterinarian in 1947 and thereafter provided leadership in developing and implementing programs in agriculture and animal husbandry; and

WHEREAS, In addition to teaching such courses as anatomy and physiology, diseases and sanitation, and animal health, Dr. Poindexter taught his students to care for horses, dogs, cats, goats, and all other types of small and large animals at the University Veterinary Clinic; and

WHEREAS, Over the years, Dr. Poindexter received numerous teaching and citizenship awards, including induction into the Texas Heritage Hall of Honor and Gold Card Membership in the American Veterinary Medical Association; and

WHEREAS, Prior to his retirement, he was one of the oldest practicing African-American veterinarians in the United States;

S.R. No. 519

Dr. Poindexter was also one of the first two African-Americans to become members of the Texas Veterinary Medical Association; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas,

79th Legislature, hereby commend Dr. Alfred N. Poindexter for
his many years of distinguished service to Prairie View A&M

University; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for him as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Ellis

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on March 31, 2005.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate