## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 520

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize members of the Texas Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation for their valuable work in trying to find a cure for diabetes; and

WHEREAS, Diabetes is a chronic, debilitating disease that affects every organ system; the two major types of diabetes are type 1 diabetes, known as juvenile diabetes, and type 2 diabetes, known as adult onset diabetes; it is estimated that over 18 million Americans have the disease, of which only 13 million people have been diagnosed; and

been diagnosed; and WHEREAS, In juvenile diabetes, the body's immune system attacks and destroys the insulin-producing cells of the pancreas; it strikes children suddenly and makes them dependent on injected or pumped insulin for life and carries the constant threat of complications; it can strike adults as well; and

WHEREAS, Insulin allows a person to stay alive, but it is not a cure; it does not prevent eventual complications, which may include kidney failure, blindness, heart disease, stroke, or amputation; and

WHEREAS, Members of the Texas Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation and the organization's youth ambassadors met recently with legislators at the State Capitol for a "Promise to Remember Me" Day to bring attention to the need for funding for diabetes research; now, therefore, be it RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas,

**RESOLVED**, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 79th Legislature, hereby commend members of the Texas Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation, the young people who are youth ambassadors, and other volunteers for their worthy efforts on behalf of the millions of people who are living with diabetes and extend to them best wishes in their continuing efforts to find a cure; and, be it further

**RESOLVED,** That a copy of this Resolution be prepared in honor of the Texas Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation.

Shapiro

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on March 31, 2005.

## Secretary of the Senate